5 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mr Sterile Assembly - Hulagu

29 Jan 2005 // A review by Carl Hayman
Well, fancy being assigned a task to write a review about Mr Sterile Assembly. This is definitely one of the most challenging tasks I have had at hand. Mr Sterile Assembly are a very unique blend of a whole lot of different types of music that I can really only describe as Alternative.

Listening to their new album Hulagu I couldn’t make head nor tail of most of the songs, but reading through the lyric sheets in cover insert, the lyrics made more than perfect sense – a metaphorical description of life as we know it.

I won’t go too fat into that, as I believe the lyrics of the song are very well written, and are very much worth a read.

The songs however I do feel differently about. They leave me reminiscing of when I was a kid, and would come home from school to watch cartoons like 'Blinky Bill'. I’m not entirely sure whether this is a good thing or not – but be aware that this music is not your standard rock band.

If you are into off beat music with a difference from your average radio play, check out Mr Sterile Assembly’s album Hulagu I believe it will leave you astounded.

-- Carl
 

About Mr Sterile Assembly

The Mr Sterile Assembly (MrsA) is a Wellington based ensemble. Forming originally as a solo effort, the group developed from a need to create a new performance vehicle that integrated a large component of theatricalness.

MrsA has played a wide range of shows, from punk rock in the pub, punkfest, support slots for international acts such as Sabot, Jello Biafra and Miss Moon and memorial shows to academics in a university, to primary schools.

The continual problem of labeling the band has at the moment settled on Chamber Punk.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mr Sterile Assembly

Releases

Hulagu
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Pregnant Boy
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Hanging Out The Washing
Year: 1999
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem