20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - EP Review: The Skin We Shed

08 May 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
I had heard good things about Curly Jewels from gigs they have played up and done the country and even though I knew nothing about them I had an impression in my mind of a hard hitting heavy rock outfit who put on a great show. So the opening track Internal Cinderella didn't disappoint, it kicks in with a driving riff and the production is great. Then it all slows and Janelle's vocals float in until we kick back into that riff and a driving chorus.

Next up is Ridiculous which starts uptempo with a great melody and has excellent guitar work on the verses, but the chorus lets it down for me. Yes, it's catchy and I am sure people will be singing along to it at gigs but for me, it just doesn't work. At that point, the song loses me.

We have a change in direction with Bastard Fate, the intro vocal effects are a nice touch and this song has more of a southern fried rock feel. Janelle has a great ear for melody and we are back on track.

Next up is No Relief and this really kicks into gear with some killer opening riffs and the drums just keep pushing the song along, picking up the energy level and also pushing me to turn up the volume a bit more. It's a more experimental format than the previous tracks and probably my favourite on here. Should be awesome live.

Frantic is another killer track and the vocals in parts remind me of Siouxsie Sioux. The band is pummeling through the song and once again the riffs are huge. This EP gets better the further you get into it. Maybe the tracks should have been in the reverse order?

Final track Terror In Disguise moves back into more familiar territory and really shows how good Curly Jewels are at songwriting. None of these songs would sound out of place on radio and there is just the right mix of heaviness balanced out with some great singing.

Curly Jewels have all the ingredients to really make a name for themselves. If they keep going this way and try to push the boundaries, the heavy parts keep getting heavier, the melodies keep getting more experimental they will stand out from the crowd and they could end up being the Jewel in NZ's Rock crown.
 

About Curlys Jewels

Curlys Jewels are an original hard rock band from Wellington which formed in 2011.

Off the back of a huge 2017 including the release of their EP The Skin We Shed, which peaked at #11 on the Official NZ Top 40 NZ Album chart, a successful North Island tour, support invitations from Kiwi rock giants Head Like A Hole and Devilskin and a performance at the NZ Tattoo and Art Festival 2017, Curlys Jewels are charging ahead into 2018.

They have just recorded a brand new single at Roundhead Studios in Auckland which will be released shortly. Watch this space!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem