23 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Head Like A Hole - Gig Review. HLAH @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui 4/05/2017

05 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Head Like A Hole was a new experience for me, I knew they had been around for a few years and had a solid fan base, I also knew that there was a high possibility of stage diving and being flicked in the face by flying hair, as I was also the photographer for the evening I was aware I didn't want to be shoved over holding my camera.  

First thing I quickly realised talking to people was just how passionate HLAH fans really are, They have people going to every concert they are doing on this 25th anniversary release of the album 13. And if you don't know by now they are an Alternative Rock - Industrial Metal band from Wellington.  I am going to go over last night's performance at Totara St which is their first gig on the tour around NZ in the month of May.

HLAH had two support acts last night, the first one is a band (and Gus) from Thames. These guys were nothing short of brilliant !, the front man Gus wasn't a lead singer, he didn't play an instrument but he jumped around the stage and blurted out things with such charisma and eccentricity that it was hard to take my eyes off him, a quick scout around the room confirmed that people were in awe or maybe slightly confused by this vision in front of us. The whole band was extremely energetic and got the crowd into the swing of things quickly. To describe them, perhaps I might say Psychedelic Punk, but I am not sure. If you ever get a chance to see them in action, GO!

Second support act was Edward Gains And The Human Remains, I had heard a lot about these guys, as they are a local band with regular attendance at music festivals such as Woodcock and gigs at the Incubator, I hadn't had the pleasure of seeing them perform, so I was looking forward to it.  It was more Punk then I thought it was going to be, perfect as a support act for HLAH, two guys playing their hearts out with powerful vocals from Gains. Excellent choice of band to get the crowd even more riled up for the head lining act. I will see more of these guys no doubt, excellent local talent.

Ok so here is the main event, the band we have all been waiting for HLAH. Are you ready?  

I was mixing and mingling with hardcore fans of this iconic band, and talking (or trying to) about what makes them so epic, I couldn't put my finger on it, I kept hearing how great they are and how much "we love them", so? And then they came out with a dramatic entrance, and I immediately saw what the people had been saying, they had that aura of professionalism that comes with many years in the industry and a sex appeal of sorts.

An epic solid performance from the entire band, the crowd was worked up into a frenzy with head banging galore. I only feared for my life once as I was pushed hard up against the stage, but that was OK, it's part of the job and I got a close view of the band's feet and full noise from the speaker. This was awesome!

Booga Beazley had whipped that crowd up to a state of ecstasy, the energy from the band and the fans could have powered Tauranga for a week. I made the mistake of not asking for the set list, so I cant give you a run down of each and every song they played, but I will say the entire set was brilliant. I am glad I was photographer as well so I had the luxury of standing back yet still getting a good view through my lens (after a few songs I decided this was the safest option).

So New Zealand, you are in for a treat with this tour. It was actually spine tingling awesomness. HLAH have once again proved they have what it takes to last the distance, it was a privilege to be both photographer and reviewer for this event.
 

About Head Like A Hole

Formed in Wellington, Head Like A Hole originally consisted of Booga Beazley, Nigel Regan, Andrew Durno and Mark Hamill. Like most young bands, they started out by playing small gigs at local pubs and at various well known live venues. Then quickly started touring the university circuit. The band soon made a name for themselves with energetic and often outrageous live performances, appearing on stage either naked, caked with mud, or covered completely in body paint.

Therefore forming a solid and dedicated following throughout the live music scene. Head like a Hole were soon signed to Wildside Records and began their recording career. 1992 saw the release of their debut album, 13 which the band largley produced themselves. The single Fish Across Face successfully made it into the New Zealand Top 10 charts. In keeping with Head Like a Hole tradition the video for Fish Across Face included a scene where Nigel regurgitates an orange substance into Booga’s mouth and was promptly pulled off air.

Head Like a Hole continued touring and performing the university orientation circuit. Then returned to the studio in 1993 to record their second album. Flik Y'Self off Y'Self. Which was released in stores in 1994 providing two singles. Faster Hooves and Spanish Goat Dancer. After the release of two successful records the band’s popularity and exposure increased, and so Head Like a Hole remained on tour. Playing to capacity crowds and sold out venues throughout the country, and in 1996 secured a position on the bill to play The Big Day Out festival. That same time the band suffered a sudden and tragic loss, with the death of their Manager Gerald Barry Dwyer. And it was late 1996 where they headed back to the studio, this time travelling to Australia and worked on a third album. Double Your Strength, Improve Your Health & Lengthen Your Life. Cornbag, the first single from the album, was released in November 1996, but received only moderate chart success.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Head Like A Hole

Releases

Faster Hooves
Year: ????
Type: EP
Spanish Goat Dancer
Year: ????
Type: Album
Narcocorrido
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Blood Will Out
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Blood On A Honky Tonk Floor
Year: 2000
Type: Album
HLAH IV
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Wet Rubber
Year: 1998
Type: Album
The Not Nicomjool EP
Year: 1995
Type: EP
Flik Y'Self Off Y'Self
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Beelzebeats
Year: 1993
Type: EP
13
Year: 1992
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem