23 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Head Like A Hole - Gig Review. HLAH @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui 4/05/2017

05 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Head Like A Hole was a new experience for me, I knew they had been around for a few years and had a solid fan base, I also knew that there was a high possibility of stage diving and being flicked in the face by flying hair, as I was also the photographer for the evening I was aware I didn't want to be shoved over holding my camera.  

First thing I quickly realised talking to people was just how passionate HLAH fans really are, They have people going to every concert they are doing on this 25th anniversary release of the album 13. And if you don't know by now they are an Alternative Rock - Industrial Metal band from Wellington.  I am going to go over last night's performance at Totara St which is their first gig on the tour around NZ in the month of May.

HLAH had two support acts last night, the first one is a band (and Gus) from Thames. These guys were nothing short of brilliant !, the front man Gus wasn't a lead singer, he didn't play an instrument but he jumped around the stage and blurted out things with such charisma and eccentricity that it was hard to take my eyes off him, a quick scout around the room confirmed that people were in awe or maybe slightly confused by this vision in front of us. The whole band was extremely energetic and got the crowd into the swing of things quickly. To describe them, perhaps I might say Psychedelic Punk, but I am not sure. If you ever get a chance to see them in action, GO!

Second support act was Edward Gains And The Human Remains, I had heard a lot about these guys, as they are a local band with regular attendance at music festivals such as Woodcock and gigs at the Incubator, I hadn't had the pleasure of seeing them perform, so I was looking forward to it.  It was more Punk then I thought it was going to be, perfect as a support act for HLAH, two guys playing their hearts out with powerful vocals from Gains. Excellent choice of band to get the crowd even more riled up for the head lining act. I will see more of these guys no doubt, excellent local talent.

Ok so here is the main event, the band we have all been waiting for HLAH. Are you ready?  

I was mixing and mingling with hardcore fans of this iconic band, and talking (or trying to) about what makes them so epic, I couldn't put my finger on it, I kept hearing how great they are and how much "we love them", so? And then they came out with a dramatic entrance, and I immediately saw what the people had been saying, they had that aura of professionalism that comes with many years in the industry and a sex appeal of sorts.

An epic solid performance from the entire band, the crowd was worked up into a frenzy with head banging galore. I only feared for my life once as I was pushed hard up against the stage, but that was OK, it's part of the job and I got a close view of the band's feet and full noise from the speaker. This was awesome!

Booga Beazley had whipped that crowd up to a state of ecstasy, the energy from the band and the fans could have powered Tauranga for a week. I made the mistake of not asking for the set list, so I cant give you a run down of each and every song they played, but I will say the entire set was brilliant. I am glad I was photographer as well so I had the luxury of standing back yet still getting a good view through my lens (after a few songs I decided this was the safest option).

So New Zealand, you are in for a treat with this tour. It was actually spine tingling awesomness. HLAH have once again proved they have what it takes to last the distance, it was a privilege to be both photographer and reviewer for this event.
 

About Head Like A Hole

Formed in Wellington, Head Like A Hole originally consisted of Booga Beazley, Nigel Regan, Andrew Durno and Mark Hamill. Like most young bands, they started out by playing small gigs at local pubs and at various well known live venues. Then quickly started touring the university circuit. The band soon made a name for themselves with energetic and often outrageous live performances, appearing on stage either naked, caked with mud, or covered completely in body paint.

Therefore forming a solid and dedicated following throughout the live music scene. Head like a Hole were soon signed to Wildside Records and began their recording career. 1992 saw the release of their debut album, 13 which the band largley produced themselves. The single Fish Across Face successfully made it into the New Zealand Top 10 charts. In keeping with Head Like a Hole tradition the video for Fish Across Face included a scene where Nigel regurgitates an orange substance into Booga’s mouth and was promptly pulled off air.

Head Like a Hole continued touring and performing the university orientation circuit. Then returned to the studio in 1993 to record their second album. Flik Y'Self off Y'Self. Which was released in stores in 1994 providing two singles. Faster Hooves and Spanish Goat Dancer. After the release of two successful records the band’s popularity and exposure increased, and so Head Like a Hole remained on tour. Playing to capacity crowds and sold out venues throughout the country, and in 1996 secured a position on the bill to play The Big Day Out festival. That same time the band suffered a sudden and tragic loss, with the death of their Manager Gerald Barry Dwyer. And it was late 1996 where they headed back to the studio, this time travelling to Australia and worked on a third album. Double Your Strength, Improve Your Health & Lengthen Your Life. Cornbag, the first single from the album, was released in November 1996, but received only moderate chart success.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Head Like A Hole

Releases

Faster Hooves
Year: ????
Type: EP
Spanish Goat Dancer
Year: ????
Type: Album
Narcocorrido
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Blood Will Out
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Blood On A Honky Tonk Floor
Year: 2000
Type: Album
HLAH IV
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Wet Rubber
Year: 1998
Type: Album
The Not Nicomjool EP
Year: 1995
Type: EP
Flik Y'Self Off Y'Self
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Beelzebeats
Year: 1993
Type: EP
13
Year: 1992
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem