19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jon Toogood - Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Leigh Sawmill, Leigh - 28/04/17

02 May 2017 // A review by Sarah Sampson

I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this show, but as an old school Shihad fan from the Killjoy album, I was keen to attend and get a different perspective of Jon and his musical background. My normal gigs I go to have a lot of distortion, giant drum kits that take up half the stage and almost ear piercing levels (certainly enough to make your ear’s ring for two days after if you’re not wearing ear plugs!) so I was expecting a very laid back, relaxed show with a lot of grey heads (well more than what I’d see at a normal gig I would attend!) 

When Jon started singing his first song, one of the newer tracks off FVEYThink You’re So Free, I first thought to myself ‘this is going to be a long night’ as I found myself consciously missing the bass and drums and POWER that Shihad is famous for. Looking around the room at this point (it’s 99% seated with only a handful of people standing) I saw a lot of head banging going on, so decided to wait and see what happened before I made anymore notes. My frame of mind changed very quickly after these initial doubts as I became absorbed and entranced by Jon’s voice and energy. Yes even though he was sitting on a high stool in front of a mic, playing an acoustic guitar, in the middle of the stage it seemed that at any moment Jon was going to leap off his stool and start head banging and screaming. I quickly realised that I was going to witness something truly magical that I think many Shihad fans (or ANY music fans for that matter, would love to witness with one of their idols in this style).

Jon’s set list was the perfect blend of Shihad songs and covers and I often found myself thinking that I preferred his acoustic version of the songs than the stadium anthem versions, which some of them had become. Two songs brought me to tears after he had explained the meanings behind the songs. Both of these two songs had already been favourite Shihad songs to me, but hearing what inspired them and then listening to the acoustic versions took me on a journey that only served to amplify my initial feelings I already had from the songs. Pacifier was written for a close friend of Jon’s who was suffering from a Mental Illness at the time and Jon wanted to help him get through it. Pacifier always spoke to me of ‘holding on, it’s going to be ok’ and hearing this song performed acoustically with only Jon’s powerful voice accompanied by the guitar was awe inspiring. The same can be said for The Great Divide which Jon revealed he originally wrote as a 2.5 min lullaby about observing the lines at the Auckland City Mission, night after night when they had come back to NZ to record FVEY and his observations of a NZ changed, and not necessarily for the better. 

The few covers that Jon did all either inspired his own songwriting processes or were songs he thought fitted well into the current state of affairs in the world. Aside from the two covers dedicated to David Bowie and Lemmy (who passed away last year), my favourite cover was Bob Dylan’s Master of War and I actually preferred Jon’s version of this great song to the original. I had to laugh at Jon’s explanation of the song To The Bogans "imagine this is another version of War Pigs then you will be all good", were Jon’s sentiments. 

In between each song Jon linked each song with a short story or memory of how each Shihad song was inspired or humorous antidotes from on tour, how nicknames came about and all of his interactions with the crowd were hilarious– heckling us, calling us out on being bogans, calling us old or mature bogans, encouraging us to sing "REALLY OBNOCIOUSLY for this song" and encouraging us saying that was the best drunk singing I’ve heard (Bliss, by Th' Dudes). There was a lot of times during the night when I had to wipe tears of laughter from my eyes, especially with Jon’s story on when he had to interview Lemmy for a Children's show when Shihad supported Motorhead. I don’t remember the last time I was this entertained by a musician. I stated at the start of my review that the shows I normally attend are of bands, but reflecting on Jon’s show now, you never, ever get this intimate a performance with a whole band set up. Jon’s tour is now over, but I highly recommend you get out to his next one! There has to be more and next time I’m going as a punter. Jon’s acoustic shows are something that any Kiwi bogan has to witness, even to just get more of an appreciation for Shihad’s music… after all they did influence a whole new generation of Bogans, and still are!

 

About Jon Toogood

NZ music legend, and guitarist and vocalist for Shihad and The Adults.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jon Toogood

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jon Toogood.

Other Reviews By Sarah Sampson

Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two
16 Nov 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it.
Read More...
Levi Sesega - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017
14 Aug 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you haven’t seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and I’m pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sarah Sampson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem