26 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Jon Toogood - Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ The Kings Arms, Auckland - 29/04/17

01 May 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
Tonight was always going to be special. There are few NZ performers with a legacy like Jon Toogood. The rain certainly hasn't put people off coming out and the Kings Arms is at full to capacity to see Jon play what is apparently his first and probably last ever solo gig at this legendary venue.

If you have ever seen Shihad perform you will already know Jon is one of the best front men in the world so there was little chance that this intimate acoustic session was going to disappoint.

He uses those skills to immediately engage and connect with the crowd tonight, launching straight into Think You're So Free from FVEY.

What follows is an hour and half of Shihad songs mixed with covers from a diverse mix of Jon's influences including, Bob Dylan, Th' Dudes, David Bowie, The Verve, his "other band Pacifier" and even Ace of Spades by Motorhead. Of course, the playing and singing are excellent and even when he forgets the words to some of the songs his connection with the crowd in those moments makes the evening even more special.

As the evening progresses the performance picks up energy and it's the banter between songs that makes this a special performance not to be missed. Like Dave Grohl, Jon comes across as a nice guy with a serious passion for music and the stories he tells give a real insight into what it has been like to be in Shihad all this time. He really should write a book.

One story about how the song Pacifier was written for his friend in Christchurch who is "one of the best guitarists in the world and is also bipolar" really shows what an excellent songwriter Jon is. The words mean so much more when you know the story behind the song.

With a new Adults record being recorded and hopefully a new Shihad album in the works we are in for plenty more from Jon. He has inspired many people in NZ to get into music and tonight he may well have inspired a few more to pick up an acoustic guitar and start their own musical journey.
 

About Jon Toogood

NZ music legend, and guitarist and vocalist for Shihad and The Adults.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jon Toogood

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jon Toogood.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem