24 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Madam Tsunami - Album Review: Long Way From Home

06 Apr 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I have a wee soft spot for Celtic music, so I was excited to get an opportunity to review Long Way From Home by Madam Tsunami. This album did not disappoint. 

A wondrous, tantalising Gaelic journey awaited, steeped in deep rich tones of the double bass. 

Madam Tsunami is a folk - pop collective fronted by husband and wife Adam and Coralie Usmani. The couples relocation from Auckland to Aberdeen in Scotland, provides a theme of yearning for home and also new beginning's. Their vocals compliment each other. Coralie's beautiful voice intertwining with Adam's strong "Kiwi" sound, encapsulated by the multinational talent of accompanying musicians. 

Like the rising mist blowing gently over a Loch, track number one Mana envelopes you in a cloak of musical serenity. Mystical and alluring instrumental excellence.

The listener is taken through a journey of the Scottish Highlands, with faint stirrings of the theme to Local Hero by Mark Knopfler on track five Blackfriars, this was goose bump material for me, to say I loved it may seem rather forward of me, but suffice to say I am deeply in like with this track and it is on repeat.

I was in a mellow state, with visions of heather and misty Lochs on my mind, when track nine Plot On The Moon, slapped me around the ears and brought me back to reality. It is vocally strong and political, albeit to the familiar stirrings of that Celtic, Scottish sound. From here on in the rest of the album showcase strong, reflective lyrics right the way through to track twelve Loving Memory, which was a beautiful ending to a stunning album.

If you like music to take you on a journey, to appeal to your senses and calm your nerves, then I recommend Long Way From Home. That as it may be I love the Kiwi sounding Scottish vibe which Madam Tsunami have captured.

It is indeed a thing of beauty.

 

About Madam Tsunami

Madam Tsunami is an anagram of front man Adam Usmani ’s name. Born to father, Arif Usmani (a key player in the NZ Music scene, co-founding the radio station BFM and managing the renowned children’s performance group The Aunties) and with stepmother, Lynn Usmani being ‘Madam Salami’ of The Aunties, Adam grew up in a creative household filled with music and theatre.

Madam Tsunami is an Auckland alternative rock outfit reviving elements of 90’s grunge rock, albeit without heavy distortion.

The band consists of Usmani, Ross Larsen on bass, drummer and backing vocalist, Jonathan Wilson and violinist Coralie Usmani.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Madam Tsunami

Releases

Long Way From Home
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Man In The Middle
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem