15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Madam Tsunami - Album Review: Long Way From Home

06 Apr 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I have a wee soft spot for Celtic music, so I was excited to get an opportunity to review Long Way From Home by Madam Tsunami. This album did not disappoint. 

A wondrous, tantalising Gaelic journey awaited, steeped in deep rich tones of the double bass. 

Madam Tsunami is a folk - pop collective fronted by husband and wife Adam and Coralie Usmani. The couples relocation from Auckland to Aberdeen in Scotland, provides a theme of yearning for home and also new beginning's. Their vocals compliment each other. Coralie's beautiful voice intertwining with Adam's strong "Kiwi" sound, encapsulated by the multinational talent of accompanying musicians. 

Like the rising mist blowing gently over a Loch, track number one Mana envelopes you in a cloak of musical serenity. Mystical and alluring instrumental excellence.

The listener is taken through a journey of the Scottish Highlands, with faint stirrings of the theme to Local Hero by Mark Knopfler on track five Blackfriars, this was goose bump material for me, to say I loved it may seem rather forward of me, but suffice to say I am deeply in like with this track and it is on repeat.

I was in a mellow state, with visions of heather and misty Lochs on my mind, when track nine Plot On The Moon, slapped me around the ears and brought me back to reality. It is vocally strong and political, albeit to the familiar stirrings of that Celtic, Scottish sound. From here on in the rest of the album showcase strong, reflective lyrics right the way through to track twelve Loving Memory, which was a beautiful ending to a stunning album.

If you like music to take you on a journey, to appeal to your senses and calm your nerves, then I recommend Long Way From Home. That as it may be I love the Kiwi sounding Scottish vibe which Madam Tsunami have captured.

It is indeed a thing of beauty.

 

About Madam Tsunami

Madam Tsunami is an anagram of front man Adam Usmani ’s name. Born to father, Arif Usmani (a key player in the NZ Music scene, co-founding the radio station BFM and managing the renowned children’s performance group The Aunties) and with stepmother, Lynn Usmani being ‘Madam Salami’ of The Aunties, Adam grew up in a creative household filled with music and theatre.

Madam Tsunami is an Auckland alternative rock outfit reviving elements of 90’s grunge rock, albeit without heavy distortion.

The band consists of Usmani, Ross Larsen on bass, drummer and backing vocalist, Jonathan Wilson and violinist Coralie Usmani.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Madam Tsunami

Releases

Long Way From Home
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Man In The Middle
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem