28 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Madam Tsunami - Album Review: Long Way From Home

06 Apr 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I have a wee soft spot for Celtic music, so I was excited to get an opportunity to review Long Way From Home by Madam Tsunami. This album did not disappoint. 

A wondrous, tantalising Gaelic journey awaited, steeped in deep rich tones of the double bass. 

Madam Tsunami is a folk - pop collective fronted by husband and wife Adam and Coralie Usmani. The couples relocation from Auckland to Aberdeen in Scotland, provides a theme of yearning for home and also new beginning's. Their vocals compliment each other. Coralie's beautiful voice intertwining with Adam's strong "Kiwi" sound, encapsulated by the multinational talent of accompanying musicians. 

Like the rising mist blowing gently over a Loch, track number one Mana envelopes you in a cloak of musical serenity. Mystical and alluring instrumental excellence.

The listener is taken through a journey of the Scottish Highlands, with faint stirrings of the theme to Local Hero by Mark Knopfler on track five Blackfriars, this was goose bump material for me, to say I loved it may seem rather forward of me, but suffice to say I am deeply in like with this track and it is on repeat.

I was in a mellow state, with visions of heather and misty Lochs on my mind, when track nine Plot On The Moon, slapped me around the ears and brought me back to reality. It is vocally strong and political, albeit to the familiar stirrings of that Celtic, Scottish sound. From here on in the rest of the album showcase strong, reflective lyrics right the way through to track twelve Loving Memory, which was a beautiful ending to a stunning album.

If you like music to take you on a journey, to appeal to your senses and calm your nerves, then I recommend Long Way From Home. That as it may be I love the Kiwi sounding Scottish vibe which Madam Tsunami have captured.

It is indeed a thing of beauty.

 

About Madam Tsunami

Madam Tsunami is an anagram of front man Adam Usmani ’s name. Born to father, Arif Usmani (a key player in the NZ Music scene, co-founding the radio station BFM and managing the renowned children’s performance group The Aunties) and with stepmother, Lynn Usmani being ‘Madam Salami’ of The Aunties, Adam grew up in a creative household filled with music and theatre.

Madam Tsunami is an Auckland alternative rock outfit reviving elements of 90’s grunge rock, albeit without heavy distortion.

The band consists of Usmani, Ross Larsen on bass, drummer and backing vocalist, Jonathan Wilson and violinist Coralie Usmani.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Madam Tsunami

Releases

Long Way From Home
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Man In The Middle
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • EARFQUAKE
    Tyler, The Creator
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem