18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Naught for Nothing - Album Review: Naught For Nothing

16 Mar 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

Every now and then a band seems to come out of the blue and you just wonder where they have been hiding and what they have been doing to get so damn good. 

Naught For Nothing formed in 2015 and are based in Northcote. Not knocking Northcote but music like this only tends to come from places where there isn't much to do but lock yourself away and get creative. That's why bands like Radiohead and others whose influence can be heard on this album exist and it is so refreshing to hear an Auckland band creating their own sound and standing out. 

There is some serious creativity going on and the production by Depot Sound has captured the essence of a band who go from heavy attitude to beautiful solitude and everything in between. Opening track Intro is a showcase of what is to follow with the instant hook being Andrew Reid's vocal acrobatics. The song builds and drops creating an intense atmosphere.

Next up is one of three stand out tracks. Pragmatism vs Idealism is like early Radiohead all moody off-kilter melodies exploding into a sonic frenzy then pulling back just enough to keep things really interesting. I get the feeling Naught For Nothing put a lot of time into crafting these songs. 

Temper has a similar feel and some nice drum and guitar work avoids the cliché of verse, chorus, verse chorus even though that results in some of the songs taking a few plays to really connect. This album is a grower and will take most people a while to fully appreciate how good this band are. Every time you listen you will discover something new to like and I think the live performances are going to be quite stunning. 

So let's get back onto my other two stand out tracks Apprehension just simply kicks ass. You have to play this album loud and this track has guitars that would make Matt Bellamy from Muse envious. This would be my choice for a single but hey that's just my opinion.

Inevitability, is just stunning. Acoustic, introspective it just takes you away. The piano and haunting vocals are perfectly mixed. This band has a lot going on but understands when less is more.

Naught for Nothing a new band that came along and blew my mind.

 

About Naught for Nothing

Naught for Nothing is a four piece Auckland-based band formed late 2015. In a Northcote garage childhood friends Jono (Bass), Fergus (Guitar), Andy (Guitar/Vocals/Keys) and Stephen (Drums) quickly began to find a unique and occasionally challenging Alt rock sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Naught for Nothing

Releases

Naught for Nothing
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem