20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Naught for Nothing - Album Review: Naught For Nothing

16 Mar 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

Every now and then a band seems to come out of the blue and you just wonder where they have been hiding and what they have been doing to get so damn good. 

Naught For Nothing formed in 2015 and are based in Northcote. Not knocking Northcote but music like this only tends to come from places where there isn't much to do but lock yourself away and get creative. That's why bands like Radiohead and others whose influence can be heard on this album exist and it is so refreshing to hear an Auckland band creating their own sound and standing out. 

There is some serious creativity going on and the production by Depot Sound has captured the essence of a band who go from heavy attitude to beautiful solitude and everything in between. Opening track Intro is a showcase of what is to follow with the instant hook being Andrew Reid's vocal acrobatics. The song builds and drops creating an intense atmosphere.

Next up is one of three stand out tracks. Pragmatism vs Idealism is like early Radiohead all moody off-kilter melodies exploding into a sonic frenzy then pulling back just enough to keep things really interesting. I get the feeling Naught For Nothing put a lot of time into crafting these songs. 

Temper has a similar feel and some nice drum and guitar work avoids the cliché of verse, chorus, verse chorus even though that results in some of the songs taking a few plays to really connect. This album is a grower and will take most people a while to fully appreciate how good this band are. Every time you listen you will discover something new to like and I think the live performances are going to be quite stunning. 

So let's get back onto my other two stand out tracks Apprehension just simply kicks ass. You have to play this album loud and this track has guitars that would make Matt Bellamy from Muse envious. This would be my choice for a single but hey that's just my opinion.

Inevitability, is just stunning. Acoustic, introspective it just takes you away. The piano and haunting vocals are perfectly mixed. This band has a lot going on but understands when less is more.

Naught for Nothing a new band that came along and blew my mind.

 

About Naught for Nothing

Naught for Nothing is a four piece Auckland-based band formed late 2015. In a Northcote garage childhood friends Jono (Bass), Fergus (Guitar), Andy (Guitar/Vocals/Keys) and Stephen (Drums) quickly began to find a unique and occasionally challenging Alt rock sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Naught for Nothing

Releases

Naught for Nothing
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem