19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Map Room - Album Review: Weatherless

10 Mar 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
As soon as I saw the CD  the album artwork jumped out at me, a brilliant vivid and vibrant display reflecting the bands unconventional, slightly bohemian yet spiritually uplifting sound. The artwork is the creation of UK artist Mathew Cooper (Caribou, Franz Ferdinand), it certainly is a visual treat.

Weatherless is Simon Gooding and Bendon Morrows' second album, it has been produced and recorded entirely by the duo. Both are recording engineers as well as musicians and this shines through. It is made up of beautiful light and mostly upbeat tracks. Described as "atmospheric indie pop" the style of music they produce is slightly alternative but it certainly grows on you.

In keeping with the bands philosophy of "being truly present", I wanted to give Weatherless the attention that it deserved, I finally managed to find some spare time to sit and listen with nothing more to disrupt me other than the grumpy glare of a hungry cat. It is indeed an album which is worthy giving your full attention to, whilst perhaps tuning out the what if's of the past and concerns of the future. Just listen to the beautifully engineered and uplifting music and enjoy the moment (ignore head butts from hungry grumpy cat).

The first two tracks Colour and You and back reeled me in with the catchy beat and soft and soulful yet symbolic lyrics. This CD made it from my chill out space to the car (away from glaring cat eyes), I was listening to it on the way to work, all week. It had me hooked, an almost peaceful soundtrack to my morning madness.

As I progressed through the eleven tracks it became clear to me that this was a journey of discovery and spiritual enlightenment, leading to experimentation with different sounds and uniting in a smooth captivating compilation.

I thoroughly enjoyed this album and I am still listening to it. These two guys from Auckland are firmly on my radar.
 

About The Map Room

The Map Room combine their love for well-constructed pop songs and embellished instrumentation with themes of displacement and motion inspired in part by their travels through South America.

Brendon Morrow and Simon Gooding met while studying Audio Engineering in Australia, and upon returning to their hometown of Auckland the pair began to
write music together. During a year-long trip from Argentina to Colombia, the duo developed their sound by writing and playing shows along the way.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Map Room

Releases

Weatherless
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Map Room
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem