18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Map Room - Album Review: Weatherless

10 Mar 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
As soon as I saw the CD  the album artwork jumped out at me, a brilliant vivid and vibrant display reflecting the bands unconventional, slightly bohemian yet spiritually uplifting sound. The artwork is the creation of UK artist Mathew Cooper (Caribou, Franz Ferdinand), it certainly is a visual treat.

Weatherless is Simon Gooding and Bendon Morrows' second album, it has been produced and recorded entirely by the duo. Both are recording engineers as well as musicians and this shines through. It is made up of beautiful light and mostly upbeat tracks. Described as "atmospheric indie pop" the style of music they produce is slightly alternative but it certainly grows on you.

In keeping with the bands philosophy of "being truly present", I wanted to give Weatherless the attention that it deserved, I finally managed to find some spare time to sit and listen with nothing more to disrupt me other than the grumpy glare of a hungry cat. It is indeed an album which is worthy giving your full attention to, whilst perhaps tuning out the what if's of the past and concerns of the future. Just listen to the beautifully engineered and uplifting music and enjoy the moment (ignore head butts from hungry grumpy cat).

The first two tracks Colour and You and back reeled me in with the catchy beat and soft and soulful yet symbolic lyrics. This CD made it from my chill out space to the car (away from glaring cat eyes), I was listening to it on the way to work, all week. It had me hooked, an almost peaceful soundtrack to my morning madness.

As I progressed through the eleven tracks it became clear to me that this was a journey of discovery and spiritual enlightenment, leading to experimentation with different sounds and uniting in a smooth captivating compilation.

I thoroughly enjoyed this album and I am still listening to it. These two guys from Auckland are firmly on my radar.
 

About The Map Room

The Map Room combine their love for well-constructed pop songs and embellished instrumentation with themes of displacement and motion inspired in part by their travels through South America.

Brendon Morrow and Simon Gooding met while studying Audio Engineering in Australia, and upon returning to their hometown of Auckland the pair began to
write music together. During a year-long trip from Argentina to Colombia, the duo developed their sound by writing and playing shows along the way.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Map Room

Releases

Weatherless
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Map Room
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem