20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Brendon Thomas and The Vibes - Gig Review: Brendon Thomas & The Vibes @ Cabana, Napier - 11/02/17

Brendon Thomas and The Vibes - Gig Review: Brendon Thomas & The Vibes @ Cabana, Napier - 11/02/17

07 Mar 2017 // A review by Ria Loveder

With their Rock n Roll sound and psychedelic feel, there is nothing I don’t like about Auckland based Trio Brendan Thomas and The Vibes.

I have to admit, I didn’t watch X Factor, but one of my best mates is a huge fan. And I mean huge! His face got turned into a meme for the show… It was great, and one day he was keeping me updated on the goings on of the contestants. I had already been told a band was in the competition that I would like and I sat down on the sofa to watch a YouTube clip Gabby had found for me. The video that I was shown was Brendan Thomas and The Vibes’ cover of George Ezra’s song Budapest. They had gotten themselves a fan.

I had not seen them live until they came to Napier last month and I had a great time to say the least! As soon as my best gal pal and I saw the event on Facebook we hit ‘Going’ and knew that it would be a good night of good energy, good music and dancing.

Performing to celebrate their latest single release on The Rock FM, they made sure their set was a variety of amplified retro tunes and full on rock riffs.

I was thoroughly impressed with their presence on stage, getting lost in the performance of their music in its purest form, that being live and loud. The energy was palpable and I only wish there were more people at the event to enjoy the evening.

They are releasing their second EP Wrap You In The Sun on the 10th of March, so if you want to listen to a band that is a hark back to the glory years of 1960’s music, this bohemian trio is the one for you. I recommend that you get amongst! 

 

About Brendon Thomas and The Vibes

Bohemian trio Brendon Thomas and The Vibes, comprised of frontman Brendon Thomas, drummer Timothee Nolier and bassist Michael Anderson teleported from the psychadelic 60’s to our TV screens, auditioning for the sophomore season of The X Factor NZ.

The Auckland-based outfit applied for the show after the announcement of a bands category, a first in the show’s international franchise. After a barnstorming take on Hendrix’s Foxy Lady, Brendon and his stagemates earned themselves a reputation as a live highlight among the show’s top 12.

Wearing their influences (Hendrix, Zeppelin, The Beatles, The Who) on their tassled sleeves, Brendon Thomas and The Vibes made their way to the show’s grand final, putting their signature spin on every song they covered, smashing a few guitars and guiding their debut EP The Eclect to #1 on the NZ iTunes charts.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Brendon Thomas and The Vibes

Releases

Wrap You In The Sun
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Read More...
Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken
04 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
What I love about Ciaran McMeeken’s self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem