15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones - Album Review: Sand

04 Mar 2017 // A review by Photographer

Miss Peach and the Travellin’ Bones have released an album called Sand

This album is beyond stunning.

Encompassing the essence of pure enchantment, Sand guides you in developing a strong attachment and sense of familiarity with the tunes it is comprised of.  Pairing beautiful production with delicious compositions, Sand is truly an album of note.

This album boasts delightful presentation, with great attention to the aesthetic and the information. Great use of imagery and quality photography assist in creating a tangible art piece; buy this album as a physical copy.

The tracks on the album, and there are a decadent 12 of them, are wonderfully varied within the theme, meaning that there is variety to remove the risk of boredom, however the consistency is strong. 

The overall feel and atmosphere of Sand will take you back in time to an endearing whimsical history that was just a skitten too fantastic to exist in reality.  An eclectic and interesting selection of instruments (including violin and double bass) definitely helps to paint this picture.  The divine Miss Peach holds a sultry and multi-faceted voice, creating soundscapes and setting tones.  

It’s difficult to choose standouts tracks as they each slam you with their own character.  Sea of Hope is beyond catchy, enticing you in with a hook that is very authentic to the nature of the album.  Mr Walker will see you close your eyes and imagine walking out of a New Orleans club years ago, into a rainy alleyway, complete with scattering cats. 

If you like the carnival, if you like the gypsy fair, if you like the rebellious 20s, if you like elegance and stroppiness….  You will enjoy Sand.

 

About Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones

Miss Peach and her Bones, her Doom Folk band, tell tales of love, loss and intrigue.

Drawing influences from minstrels and storytellers of old, Miss Peach narrates complex characters and adventure into her songs.

The Travellin’ Bones consist of Sarah Spurs on double bass, Glorit on drums and Pearl on violin.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones

Releases

Sand
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Photographer

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: The Electric Sun/Streets of Gold
05 Nov 2016 // by Photographer
A release by New Zealand based Apollo SteamTrain, the 'Double A Side' single The Electric Sun/Streets Of Gold is a neat way to feature the strengths of the band. Well recorded, these two songs are pleasantly composed with much thought put in to the tones and soundscape used.
Read More...
Mishap - EP Review: Toaster
05 Nov 2016 // by Photographer
Enthusiastically honest lyrics and a homely, familiar flavour are the initial hits when yourToaster EP pops. Mishap hauls in the spirits of Green Day (Dookie Days) and I’m going to say a smearing of Smash-era Offspring to bring you their musical offering.
Read More...
EP Review: Bonfire Baby
05 Nov 2016 // by Photographer
Running out to the car, late as usual, I checked the letterbox on the way through, finding this wee gem in there. I was off on a road trip with no-one, giving me plenty of time to conceive the following words that will explain my experience with Bonfire Baby.
Read More...
Churlington - Album Review: Wally Wick... Some Kind Of Rodent
05 Nov 2015 // by Photographer
Churlington’s Wally Wick​.​.
Read More...
Gig Review: Head Like A Hole @ Galatos, Auckland - 6/08/2015
19 Aug 2015 // by Photographer
The last time I saw Head Like A Hole I was a teenager and I was in no state to form any kind of opinion on what I had just seen, other than knowing that once again I had loved it. Fast forward 20 or so years and I was completely amped to be making my way to Galatos in Auckland to see and photograph Head Like a Hole playing with 8 Foot Sativa.
Read More...
Ahjay Stelino - Album Review: Music Therapy Songs for Special Kids
09 Jun 2015 // by Photographer
It’s not often my two jobs overlap, by night I am a music photographer and reviewer and by day I am an early intervention teacher, supporting preschool children with disabilities in their early education.  So I was quite excited to be asked to review Ahjay Stelino’s Music Therapy Songs for Special Kids.
Read More...
View All Articles By Photographer

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem