23 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review: Utility Blues

27 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
As I opened the package containing this CD, I saw Li'l Chuck peering out at me from the back of a ute with his instruments surrounding him and the beautiful Port Hills of Christchurch in the background.  The compact disc case was a well put together package containing a wee booklet inside the front cover, with the lyrics to his music and accompanying photography. Personally I think this is a nice touch.

The CD itself, shows that Li'l Chuck is a multifaceted and talented musician, he wrote and engineered all but one of the songs (Sixteen Tons). He is one man playing harmonica, resonator guitar, kick drum, hi hat, kazoo and vocals to produce a easy listening and fresh blues sound, all this was composed and recorded by him in a shed converted into a mini studio. The YouTube video showing how he went about this is well worth taking a look at, I found it fascinating.

The lyrics on Utility Blues are matter of fact mini stories of love, heartbreak and appreciation, with a couple of tongue in cheek tracks in the form of Good Time Mama and Stick It In Your Pipe And Smoke It. Listening to his music happily transported me to a bar in New Orleans, if I hadn't known better it would have been hard to pick that this was one man doing it all.

Vocally he has tones of Elvis, complimented with lively vibrant instrumentation.

The 12 tracks on Utility Blues are undeniably a testament that "men can indeed, multitask..."

Release date 17/03/2017
 

About Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine

Li'l Chuck The One Man Skiffle Machine is an authentic one man band performing 'good time music with old time style'. Blessed with the ability to handle multiple instruments at a time, he is the master of coordination: blowin', suckin' and pluckin' simultaneously! He cranks out the harmonica, resonator guitar, kick drum, hi hat, kazoo and vocals to give the audience a rollicking good time.

Li'l Chuck has spent a lifetime rummaging through the drawers of 1930's - 50's music. His mainly original songs are inspired by the sounds of the era - Blues, Early Jazz, Western Swing, Ragtime etc. and are uniquely presented in the style of the street performers from those glory days.

Originally hailing from the UK, Li'l Chuck first stomped out his music on the Streets of Christchurch in 2003 after relocating to NZ.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine

Releases

Utility Blues
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem