18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julie Lamb - Album Review: Ordinary Days

14 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Ordinary Days - launch date 11 March 2017.

Julie Lamb (Band) is a 11 piece funky - blues rock band "with a 70's vibe", from Wellington.

From the get go, when I received the email introducing Julie and band I was enchanted, anyone that starts an email with "A swish and flash of unicorn dust" has my attention.

Bleeding Numbers, the first track on the album was released 18 Jan 2017. It has a laid back cruisy vibe with a tendency to stick in your head (my partner described it as "catchy" and I caught him humming the track more than once).

The studio recording of Bleeding Numbers gave me a sense that this is a close group of musicians, that love what they do, and are having fun doing it, but in the same breathe I will say that this is a professionally constructed album, engineered with skill.

Ordinary Days is a slick, smooth collection of beautifully composed lyrics, Julie has a wonderfully melodic voice, which is enhanced by her backing vocalists and band.

I found the whole album enjoyable, the lyrics and composition captivated me.  This is honest and upbeat and Julie's pride and love of music shines through in every song.

The standout track for me, if I were to choose just one, would be number ten on the album, Jean Pierre (The Chocolatier), I don't know why but it made me want to lick a big bar of chocolate, and that made me smile.

Ordinary Days has a nice chilled Kiwi vibe, refreshing and fun. This is highly recommended listening.

 

About Julie Lamb

“Vintage sound with a futuristic feel” - Julie Lamb is a consummate storyteller that sings to your heart and has words with your mind while the music has its way with your body

Julie Lamb is all class, more sass and hysterical "funnerisms" wrapped in one feisty package. Hailing from Wellington NZ, by day she is the Principal of Julie Lamb and Associates but by night she is the lead singer/songwriter for The Julie Lamb band. Having dabbled in various musical styles and bands for "mumble" years (acts include Joplin covers band "Channelling Janis" and "10dd", an accapella 12 piece troupe that sings 10cc numbers), performing has always been her outlet for expression, a way to connect with others on the same wavelength. But it is the original material that brings this driven diva to life.

"Every song carries a unique edge that sets it apart from the standard rock fodder lurking on every corner" Martyn Pepperell, Fishhead magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julie Lamb

Releases

Ordinary Days
Year: 2017
Type: Album
When We Hang Out
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Trippin' The Light
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Most and Least
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem