20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

MarineVille - Album Review: Penguins Ate My Chips

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
I simply could not go past the name of this album without wanting to give it a listen, something about penguins eating chips appealed to me.

First off, as a band photographer my eyes immediately went to the album cover, it took me back to the days when the Young Ones ruled and I picked my music based on the album art and band name, the best way to discover new music!

Featuring a series of twelve short upbeat songs, Penguins Ate My Chips is the 4th album from New Zealand Alt-Rock quartet MarineVille. Three quarters of the band hail from Dunedin where most of the band are now based, however sessions for Penguins Ate My Chips began in the band's Wellington warehouse in 2012.

The first track, 75 Watts Frosted, launches straight into a fast paced rocking number which has tones of The Doors. Break on Through (To the Other Side) sprung to mind.

Moving on, the second track Wax Tears mellows down slightly almost reminiscent of the alternative rock stylings of Poi Dog Pondering. This was my favourite number on the album, it captured my imagination with an interesting story.

This album has some clever song writing, paired with fast guitar. The lyrics are an interesting eclectic mix of songs, which tell stories that have evolved over time, and has been inspired by the bands various experiences at gigs, life events, football and a trip to Otago Museum.

Penguins Ate My Chips has a unique Kiwi Punk underground flavour, and in my opinion is well worth a listen to.
 

About MarineVille

MarineVille formed in mid-1999. The line-up was Mark Williams (guitar), Adam Ring (guitar) and Simon Waterfield (drums). Over the next 18 months the band consolidated around Mark's songs and recorded the album 'Ready for the Dance' with bass players Brett Garrity and John Douglas. It was engineered by good pal David Coventry (La Gloria).

Nationwide tours with Kitset and Heka followed, as did live-to-airs, a live film soundtrack, several aborted video’s (with one success), and compilation appearances in NZ, Australia and USA. A revolving series of band members puzzled everyone including us, but the current line-up of Mark Williams, John Douglas, Geoffrey Trail and David Hall was established early 2002.

Ex-member John Douglas (bass) now performs with The Accelerants.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for MarineVille

Releases

Penguins Ate My Chips
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Diving The Wreck
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Ready For The Dance
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem