24 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Play Big - EP Review: Fuck Work

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
When I first heard the name Play Big it reminded me of those T-Shirts Wham used to wear in the eighties with CHOOSE LIFE emblazoned on them. That image was blown away by the opening riff on Fuck Work which hit harder than Joseph Parker when he hasn't been eating too many Burger Kings.

The production on this EP is impressive and all 5 tracks were recorded over two days at Auckland's Silverpoint Studios. Vocally I am reminded of Cyprus Hill and the band are really tight. All The Same bounces along on the back of a grinding riff then builds to a climax that Rage Against The Machine would be proud of. It would be lazy to describe Play Big as a RATM clone though as there is much more going on here. A heavier edge and where RATM are tackling global issues Play Big are keeping things more street level and personal.

Don't Worry starts all atmospheric and has a Deftones vibe. My favourite track on here and would be a killer to see live. The EP actually runs along like a live set and by Four Point Six the band are firing on all cylinders. Slightly longer than the other tracks with some nice break downs. This leads us to closing track The Way That I Am full of the attitude that runs through all these tracks but not as stand out as the earlier songs.

A lot of NZ based Rapcore bands all come out sounding like Blindspott clones and I am pleased to say this isn't the case with Play Big. Finally, NZ has a band stepping out of those shadows and shining a light for others to follow. I am excited. Go out and buy this EP. I just did.

Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem