12 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Silent Torture - EP Review: Torn to Pieces

25 Jan 2017 // A review by Matt McGrath

Released January 28th, 2017

Back in October, we saw the release of a brand new single entitled Torn to Pieces said to be the title track off of the upcoming EP from Auckland death thrashers Silent Torture. After unveiling the gruesome and equally as awesome cover a couple of weeks ago from artist Tata Kumislizer, the wait was finally over and I was lucky enough to be one of the first to check it out.

Opening with the title track which I also reviewed a few months back, the relentless thrash hits you hard right out the gate. A truly scarring experience that sparks intrigue, especially when witnessed live. Exposing us to a particular sound that is unique to this band. It's easy to see why they named the EP after this killer track.

Smashing right on through to the next song with a barrage of blasting drums and rampaging riffs, our skin is already hanging from the bone. Bodies in the Sewers is a brutal example of the death metal roots buried deep within this talented five-piece. Unforgiving and explosive this is definitely my personal favourite of the four tracks.

Adding, even more, speed to the equation Trail of Corpses grinds us down to a pulp. The epic display of vocals is an onslaught that leaves us melted in our seats. The immense layering of brutal gutturals and painful screams, unlike anything we have previously heard from vocalist Liam Hand, push the boundaries for this band.

A murderous thrust into the final song, apply named Torture we are thrown back and forth between demonic power chords and skin ripping blast sections. Laced with slow burning bass and stomach gurgling vocals, further punishing the listener while providing a sinister dynamic of darkness to the whole EP.

Well placed and tight with great space between all of the instruments, the producer has done an excellent job honing in on the potential sound from the previous EP whilst keeping the energy of the live performance intact. As one of the first releases we've seen this year from the NZ metal scene, this one sets a very high standard and is sure to be a success to the band's already growing legacy. 

Be sure to catch these guys with an array of local brutality, this Saturday at the Kings Arms for their official release show!

-5 Stars -Matt Mutinous

 

About Silent Torture

Silent Torture is a death thrash band reigning from Auckland.

Influences are: Cannibal Corpse, Cattle Decapitation, Deicide, Vital Remains, Suicide Silence.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Silent Torture

Releases

Torn to Pieces
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Silent Torture Live
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Your Creation
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Matt McGrath

Stress - EP Review - Misery Fatigue
02 Dec 2018 // by Matt McGrath
A new addition to the scene, Wellington-based hardcore noise outfit Stress are about to launch their career with their debut release Misery Fatigue. Interested in what exactly that entailed, I was stoked to get a chance to have a sneak peek at this highly anticipated Kiwi band.
Read More...
Album Review - Shepherds Reign
15 Oct 2018 // by Matt McGrath
New Zealand is world renown for Polynesian musicians, groups like Deceptikonz, Nesian Mystik and Aaradhna are some of the first to come to mind. So, it was surprising to hear of a band breaking the mould and coming straight outta South Auckland into the Kiwi Metal scene.
Read More...
Heavy Blarney - Album Review - Bog to Swamp
08 May 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Released - 18th May 2018 When I first saw the title Bog to Swamp my imagination could only assume what kind of music was to follow. The second album from Palmerston North Celtic rockers, Heavy Blarney had grabbed my attention from the get-go and I was keen to find out just how this band sounded with such a unique blend of music styles, rarely attempted these days.
Read More...
Depths - Album Review: Endless
10 Mar 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Release Date: April 13th, 2018 Picked up by Deadboy Records in late 2011, Depths have hit the ground running, adding a new angle to the New Zealand Metal scene and bringing a fresh sound to the table. Presumably named after the album from US deathcore band, Oceano, Depths has managed to draw an international style of death metal from the comforts of Palmerston North.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cattle Decapitation @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 8/02/2018
21 Feb 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Thursday nights are always a good night to go out if you live in Auckland, with most international acts 'fitting us in' on their Australian tour nowadays, even a show this close to the weekend is a blessing. San Diego death metal giants, Cattle Decapitation had shown up to the iconic Kings Arms and the line to the was stretched out into the street.
Read More...
EP Review: Rise of Destructatron
15 Feb 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Countdown... to...
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Yot Club, Raglan - 06/01/2018
08 Jan 2018 // by Matt McGrath
The sun finally decided to make an appearance over Raglan on Saturday afternoon, following two days of chaos weather and king tides that flooded most of the country. Tourists returned with the warmth as the campground began to fill up, the sun slipped below the horizon almost as quickly as it appeared.
Read More...
Starving Millions - EP Review: V
02 Sep 2017 // by Matt McGrath
Good punk in this country has always been few and far between. Ducking in and out of the spotlight, the well-known acts of the New Zealand scene have been the ones that have powered on.
Read More...
View All Articles By Matt McGrath

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem