13 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • The Naked And Famous - The Naked And Famous @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 10/01/17

The Naked And Famous - The Naked And Famous @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 10/01/17

23 Jan 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
These radio promo gigs are a strange thing. I have been to a few now and like a good portion of the people tonight, I am not here necessarily as a fan of the band. The result is an audience that is disconnected, a challenge, a crowd you have to try to impress. If you don't then people leave.

Add to the fact that the venue is Auckland's Logan Campbell centre with its lack of facilities (decent bar area), crap air conditioning and acoustics that make even the most polished band sound shite, The Naked and Famous have a challenge on their hands, but it is one they live up to. 

I missed the name of the main support act. They said it a few times but this is the Logan Campbell centre so it sounded something like "Thanks we are b$@#$fh" If someone reading this knows their name then leave a comment because they were good. Kind of stoner rock but with an indie vocal style that started off annoying but kind of grew on me.

It dawned on me that The Naked and Famous have been around and releasing music for almost 10 years now. Hard to believe as they still seem fresh and the poppier direction of the latest album Simple Forms shows the band are still pushing boundaries. It has been a while since they were last in NZ being based in LA but this was always going to be a polished performance. They start the show with The Water Beneath You, off the new album and instantly Alisa's voice gives me goosebumps. It is such a strong element of their sound and soars above any muddiness in the rest of the sound.

Higher, kicks in and the crowd gets behind the band. Then we are into All of This from Passive Aggressive and the band show why they are one of the best to come out of New Zealand. There is a dark side to The Naked and Famous which makes them stand out from other pop bands. Next up is one of my favourites Punching in a Dream and the band are finding their flow and connecting with the crowd.

There are moments where the music is uplifting then moments of melancholy creep in keeping things interesting. The band have been through challenges leading up to the release of Simple Forms but they have come out the other side stronger and more diverse. The shows will only get better.

The set is fairly long with around 17 songs and I did feel the energy drop on some of the newer songs which is to be expected with an audience of competition winners and radio execs but the band were almost faultless and enjoying themselves. The Naked and Famous deserve their position as one of New Zealand's most successful bands and based on tonight's performance they are back and ready to take on the world again.
 

About The Naked And Famous

Beyond a life hardwired to pop culture via the 24 hour news feed, The Naked And Famous elicit a romantic connection inspired by the golden era of alternative rock; a shared response to a teenage soundtrack of epic, emotionally charged mid nineties music.

Released in March 2011, their ambitious debut Passive Me, Aggressive You featured the singles, Young Blood and Punching In A Dream. Lauded by the NME, it was “A classic case of lovely and beautiful: TNAF’s passive melodicism and aggressive innovation clash in a dazzling blaze of psych/sonic fireworks” and Rolling Stone magazine described Young Blood as one of the year’s “best singles”.

Fronted by Alisa Xayalith and Thom Powers, The Naked and Famous lit a fire under an online fan base, with a video subculture built through YouTube and into radio. M83 invited TNAF to remix a single and a Tiesto remix transformed Young Blood into a club smash. Agencies fell into The Naked and Famous slipstream, and theirs became the go-to soundtrack for gaming, Hollywood and TV shows mining a zeitgeist of young and interesting.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Naked And Famous

Releases

In Rolling Waves
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Passive You, Agressive Me
Year: 2010
Type: Album
This Machine
Year: 2008
Type: EP
No Light
Year: 2008
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem