20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • The Naked And Famous - The Naked And Famous @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 10/01/17

The Naked And Famous - The Naked And Famous @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 10/01/17

23 Jan 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
These radio promo gigs are a strange thing. I have been to a few now and like a good portion of the people tonight, I am not here necessarily as a fan of the band. The result is an audience that is disconnected, a challenge, a crowd you have to try to impress. If you don't then people leave.

Add to the fact that the venue is Auckland's Logan Campbell centre with its lack of facilities (decent bar area), crap air conditioning and acoustics that make even the most polished band sound shite, The Naked and Famous have a challenge on their hands, but it is one they live up to. 

I missed the name of the main support act. They said it a few times but this is the Logan Campbell centre so it sounded something like "Thanks we are b$@#$fh" If someone reading this knows their name then leave a comment because they were good. Kind of stoner rock but with an indie vocal style that started off annoying but kind of grew on me.

It dawned on me that The Naked and Famous have been around and releasing music for almost 10 years now. Hard to believe as they still seem fresh and the poppier direction of the latest album Simple Forms shows the band are still pushing boundaries. It has been a while since they were last in NZ being based in LA but this was always going to be a polished performance. They start the show with The Water Beneath You, off the new album and instantly Alisa's voice gives me goosebumps. It is such a strong element of their sound and soars above any muddiness in the rest of the sound.

Higher, kicks in and the crowd gets behind the band. Then we are into All of This from Passive Aggressive and the band show why they are one of the best to come out of New Zealand. There is a dark side to The Naked and Famous which makes them stand out from other pop bands. Next up is one of my favourites Punching in a Dream and the band are finding their flow and connecting with the crowd.

There are moments where the music is uplifting then moments of melancholy creep in keeping things interesting. The band have been through challenges leading up to the release of Simple Forms but they have come out the other side stronger and more diverse. The shows will only get better.

The set is fairly long with around 17 songs and I did feel the energy drop on some of the newer songs which is to be expected with an audience of competition winners and radio execs but the band were almost faultless and enjoying themselves. The Naked and Famous deserve their position as one of New Zealand's most successful bands and based on tonight's performance they are back and ready to take on the world again.
 

About The Naked And Famous

Beyond a life hardwired to pop culture via the 24 hour news feed, The Naked And Famous elicit a romantic connection inspired by the golden era of alternative rock; a shared response to a teenage soundtrack of epic, emotionally charged mid nineties music.

Released in March 2011, their ambitious debut Passive Me, Aggressive You featured the singles, Young Blood and Punching In A Dream. Lauded by the NME, it was “A classic case of lovely and beautiful: TNAF’s passive melodicism and aggressive innovation clash in a dazzling blaze of psych/sonic fireworks” and Rolling Stone magazine described Young Blood as one of the year’s “best singles”.

Fronted by Alisa Xayalith and Thom Powers, The Naked and Famous lit a fire under an online fan base, with a video subculture built through YouTube and into radio. M83 invited TNAF to remix a single and a Tiesto remix transformed Young Blood into a club smash. Agencies fell into The Naked and Famous slipstream, and theirs became the go-to soundtrack for gaming, Hollywood and TV shows mining a zeitgeist of young and interesting.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Naked And Famous

Releases

In Rolling Waves
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Passive You, Agressive Me
Year: 2010
Type: Album
This Machine
Year: 2008
Type: EP
No Light
Year: 2008
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem