1 Jun 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Capsul - EP Review: Clarity

08 Jan 2017 // A review by Peter-James Dries

An experiment in personal expression and music for coming on ten years, Capsul, is the semi-solo project of James, who forms half of indie darlings Carb on Carb.

With his latest release, Clarity, James has taken some musical direction from his more famous band and released an album almost devoid of the sombre tone and existential despair of previous releases.

So much so, that this is a walk home album, to be enjoyed in those moments between the office cubicle and the urine stench of the elevator up to my shoebox apartment.   

Clarity is still in the DIY bedroom pop style we've come to expect, but is a lot more put together, and therefore more palatable, than earlier efforts, like 2009's regress, regress, an album that couldn't get much more experimental, save for substituting instruments for cats. That was an album dark enough to be mentioned next to Joy Division and Sunken Seas. That was a walk to work album!

The music styling of Clarity is some sort of stripped-back shoegaze. All but gone is the 80s New Wave tribute sound and the hiding behind a reverb pedal. They have been replaced by 90s garage pop tales of love, loss and looking around. It's an album as honest, bare and unpretentious as they come.

Relatable or not, the songs are insights into James' character and psyche. Odes to moments, the songs are short lived and fleeting, like the emotions from which they come, but that's all they're meant to be. Moments of music to be enjoyed until James next feels something worth singing about.

If you've just got home from a hell of a day making money for someone else, Clarity is the record you should put on, watching the clouds gently encroach on the blue of the summer sky.

You can find Clarity on the Capsul Bandcamp  and their extensive back catalogue on the Papaiti website (for free no less).

 

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
dharmarat - Album Review: WLKNZ
24 Dec 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This review took a long time. This isn’t my usual genre.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • RAIN ON ME
    Lady Gaga And Ariana Grande
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem