24 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chazz Valentine - Album Review: Generation Y

28 Dec 2016 // A review by Carl Hayman

Remember when bands such as Blink 182, Sum 41, Frenzal Rhomb, Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Reel Big Fish were the epitome of summer? Throwing the surfboards in the back of the wagon, cranking the tunes, and heading to the beach for an epic day in the sun with the boys and even the occasional girl?

That’s what I get reminiscing about when I hear Chazz Valentine's wicked new album Generation Y.

Chazz had wicked success back in the early 2000’s with his band The Rabble and more recently with Flirting With Disaster. I was always a bit jealous of Chazz as he had this wicked cult following of literally hundreds of people who would turn up to shows he played with any band he was involved with. It was all totally warranted though – he puts on a wicked show, writes wicked tunes, and never fails to deliver. He is also a totally humble guy when you get chatting to him about it.

Some of the tracks such as Dear God are straight up punk, but then he throws in some quirky tunes such as Can’t Deny It which have organ melody lines – not something I can say I’ve ever been a fan of, but somehow Chazz has worked his magic and overlaid these into the tunes with minimal effort and maximum effect. There is even a splash of acoustic with Life In A Heartbeat which sort of has a Rise Against Hero Of War feel about it.

I don’t know many of the details about the album to be fair, but I do know that Chazz is a pretty awesome engineer/producer in his own right, and I suspect that he has produced and engineered, and probably even played most of the stuff if not all of the stuff on this album. One thing I definitely know for sure is that this is probably the best debut album I’ve had the privilege of reviewing.

For all of you die hard punk fans, it’s not as raw as 70’s punk, and I wouldn’t liken it to Sex Pistols, but I wouldn’t liken it to screamy punk either such as Story Of The Year. I would definitely say this album goes more head to head with the likes of No Cigar by Millencolin or MxPx’s Life In General.

One massive thumbs up from me. Very, very solid effort! 

 

About Chazz Valentine

Cutting his teeth and paving a path with successful New Zealand punk trio, The Rabble. Founding member, Chazz Rabble (along with his brother, Rupe) quickly perfected the craft of writing amazing music.

Influenced by the likes of other punk legends, Tim Armstrong (Rancid) & Mike Ness (Social Distortion), Chazz decided it was also his turn to take a chance at a solo side-project.

It was there & then that, "Chazz Valentine" was born.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chazz Valentine

Releases

Generation Y
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem