29 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cheshire Grimm - Gig Review: Cheshire Grimm @ Backbeat, Auckland - 2/12/2016

11 Dec 2016 // A review by Paul Goddard

There was always going to be a good crowd at this Cheshire Grimm single release party with support from Skinny Hobos, Armed in Advance and She Loves You. The room is already nearly full as She Loves You take the stage. It takes a few songs for the band to start to find their stride but when they do I am blown away. She Loves You are very, very cool in the same way the Queens of The Stone Age are cool or Nick Cave is cool. They have energy, swagger, attitude and are clearly having a great time. The songs get stronger as the set proceeds and the mix of indie alternative rock with real stage presence is a breath of fresh air.

Next up it's Armed In Advance and I have been wanting to see these guys since they released their first EP. It is all about the riff and luckily JP has a full armoury of riffs to choose from. The volume is upped a few hundred notches and they immediately have the crowd moving. AIA have a sound similar to bands like Chevelle or even Shihad and they deliver the songs with the energy and punch you would expect. 

Cheshire Grimm go on next but let's skip to Skinny Hobos. You get 2-4-1 at a Skinny Hobos gig; 2 people who sound like 4 and play together as one. What I love about Alex and Sam is they have done this the old school way and are one of the hardest working bands in NZ. Gig after gig after gig and now they are really gaining some traction. All that time on the road means they are completely on top of their set. How two people can make such a sound is amazing. They are never boring, have onstage banter that could actually be a show on its own and their cover of Supermassive by Muse sounds even more bombastic than the original and is something you have to see and hear (and I hate bands doing covers).

Ok it's Cheshire Grimm's party and Kat and Lora have been building a following over the past four years with gigs in NZ and Australia. They have also gone through a few line-up changes so tonight Texas Holdem is sitting in on drums along with a bass player whose name I forgot to ask but that doesn't matter he was outstanding. Like She Loves You it took Cheshire Grimm a couple of songs before the band finally found its feet but it soon became clear that Cheshire Grimm aren't a band that try to hook you in straight away.

They kind of creep up on you with the songs dark textures wrapping around creating a false sense of security before suddenly kicking you in the balls then smiling as they give you a kiss goodnight. There are moments that take you by surprise and I like that I can't pigeon-hole this band into a genre, I like that I don't know what's coming next. I wish Kat would turn her guitar up a few notches because she is playing some really interesting stuff.

Kat and Lora are onto something but I do feel there was something missing in the connection with the crowd tonight. I am sure a few more gigs will fix that and I hope they keep pushing the envelope and creating a sound that is unique. If they do then we could see something really special with Cheshire Grimm.

 

About Cheshire Grimm

Genre: Melancholic Wonder / Prog-Alt-Pop-Glitter
What do you see when you think of Cheshire Grimm?

The brainchild of Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) has created a dark creature, twisting through the motions of light and dark, threading their bright colours into a warm blanket of melancholy.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cheshire Grimm

Releases

Rain Or Shine
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Cheshire Grimm
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem