3 Jun 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

His Masters Voice - Gig Review: His Masters Voice @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 15/10/16

22 Nov 2016 // A review by Andrew Smit

The underground tavern that is the Whammy Bar filled with an attractive blend of young and old to experience 3 bands peel off their rowdy musical sweats. First up was Dead Favours, a relatively new 4 piece from Auckland. I saw their debut gig back in June and was impressed with what I heard and I am happy to say they have grown more tight and confident in that short time. They just pound out their tight power rock, full of riffs, bridges, and catchy melodic passages with ease, peeling off original after original, and every one sounded awesome. Their songs are loaded with killer hooks leading to strong and melodic choruses that either burst into ripping guitar solos or breakdown segments that reel you in and get you hooked. The lead vocals from Jared Wrennell are strong and tuneful, and he spoke nicely between songs as well. Kyle Wetton studiously made his guitar sing and wail, and when Jared joined in with his guitar the full sound made you take notice. The machine room of Bass from Ross Larsen and Drums by Charlie Smith was persuasively tight, empowering the tunes with steady driving rhythms and body throughout the set. I look forward to their debut recordings which they are undertaking as we read.

Second up were Hunt The Witch performing their transcendent gothic rock with fastidious commitment, at times the driving rhythms and swirling melodic guitar strains held you in a trance, such was the mesmeric beat and hypnotic twirling arrangements they composed. With the tall Sam Whitley on Vocals demanding your attention, he pushed his sound at you hard with a mix of growling and crooning with his warm vocal tones that blended well with the loud music. The stomping rhythms from Jason Peters on drums and full on bass from Anthony Lakin injected a solid backbone for the intense and at times psychedelic guitar sounds played by Bevan Carbines. As a unit these guys deliver an engrossing sound, full of grinding power and compelling rhythms.

And then there was His Masters Voice, I'm not sure if we wanted too but like a moth to a flame the pack moved forward and we were under their spell, and it was good, damn good. The heady musical mix of heavy rock and blues that these guys are renowned for was delivered in spades. On lead guitar was the striking Az Burns who conjured amazing lead guitar passages full of melodic character and expressive enchantment. While lead vocalist Jesse Sorensen sang his cool gravel tones through his long hair that ran down his face while also playing his big guitar, and together with Az the two gave every song a full guitar sound. Combined with Brandon Bott's meaty bass and the intense tribal rhythms of Rene Harvey's drums they took us on a very intoxicating and mystical journey that was irresistible. Their hoodoo murky rock and blues is a captivating experience, the sound is not the only element too, they look the part, and I'm not talking about black T-shirts and Jeans, oh no were talking about full on commitment with physical body growth and embellishments, like metre long hair, intense body piercings and exceptional tattoos. There is no way you cannot take these guys seriously in every department, they are a whip-smart force to be reckoned with.

I was up close in the front row so there was no escaping the voodoo effect their music secrete, it's just so powerful and empowering, just the way a hard rock gig should be. Near the end of the set they ripped into Sabbath's Fairies Wear Boots which they play so well with their unique jungle blues style, the crowd agreed and they all descended into a mosh frenzy, unfortunately as I was up front I was oblivious to it all and had nowhere to go when the mass of bodies bumped hard into my back, so over the wedge speakers I went, and ended up splayed all over the stage between Jesse and Az like a stunned rat! Well I just got back to my spot and carried on, and although I tried to brace myself for another shove from behind I still ended up as part of the show a few more times?!

When they finished we all cheered and clapped and then after a few encores we were left standing there, ears ringing and exhausted, but totally satisfied with our nights entertainment, who could ask for more! 

 

About His Masters Voice

Formed late 2012, His Masters Voice are inspired by legends like Buddy Guy, BB King and Black Sabbath.

Their sound evokes the Classic-Rock greats such as Deep Purple, the Doors and Led Zeppelin, mashed together with a sprinkling of Motown and icons such as the Beatles.

Musically, the band identifies with a new wave of progressive rock/blues such as Graveyard, Blues Pills, Orchid and Heart Attack Alley.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for His Masters Voice

Releases

Woman
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Save My Soul
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Possession
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Andrew Smit

Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Long Way from Home
26 Sep 2019 // by Andrew Smit
New Zealand singer-songwriter Phil Stoodley is a travelling Kiwi musician of some note and he has created a most beautiful song and video clip for his new single Long Way From Home, which shows off his singing and song writing skill spectacularly. The track sounds so good, the recording is impressively immaculate yet still warm and full of character.
Read More...
Jam Henderson - Single Review: Rainbow
10 Sep 2019 // by Andrew Smit
Rainbow is a cool little track with a nice funky vibe, the pace is urged along by a bright sparkly guitar that produces a nice upbeat feel. The guitar delivers a splash of spritely sound that provides a nice contrast to the laid-back tuneful vocals that flow effortlessly through the track.
Read More...
Sonic Delusion - Album Review: Anything Goes
11 Jun 2019 // by Andrew Smit
What a wonderfully positive experience it was to review Sonic Delusion's new album Anything Goes. 10 tracks of splendidly good tunes that make you feel good, with catchy grooves and upbeat rhythms, the music is best described as a kind of funky folk pop but with extra fizz, and sparkle, that is so easy to enjoy.
Read More...
Kingsland - Single Review: The Motto
30 Apr 2019 // by Andrew Smit
A very groovy pop rock sound is the first thing that strikes you when listening to Kingsland’s latest single The Motto. Driven by a very upbeat vibe that seizes you wholeheartedly, this tuneful track is packed with chunky guitar licks that are wonderfully bluesy and soulful.
Read More...
Eyreton Hall - Single Review: Weekend
26 Mar 2019 // by Andrew Smit
Another smooth and gratifying song by Eyreton Hall, that soothes the senses with its easy flowing style and melodic grace. With steady rhythmic folk music that rolls along so sweetly and is sprinkled with lovely colour spurts dispensed by a flirting electric guitar and keyboards.
Read More...
Etheran - Single Review: Let Me Go
12 Feb 2019 // by Andrew Smit
Opening with a formidable power riff this debut track from Christchurch based Etheran really grabs you by the throat, and it's a track that has many shades. The strong melodic verses that are sung by the clean voice of lead singer Lita Macabeo is smooth and wholesome, whereas the chorus sections burst with scolding vocals and a burst of drums that lifts the power and emotion with great intensity.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Album Review: Bite Me
04 Dec 2018 // by Andrew Smit
Finally, there is a children’s album that you can chomp into with glee, fleaBITE are the band and Bite Me is the album, and it's full of surprises, where every song is like a bursting musical festival. As a father of two young ones I have had many hours listening to albums full of standard nursery rhyming fair that after a couple of repeats would start to affect your sanity.
Read More...
Chris William - EP Review: Out of Sight
18 Sep 2018 // by Andrew Smit
Out of Sight is an EP with 10 very easy on the ear compositions, with gentle serenading tunes, accompanied by Chris William's velvet vocals that glide on deft orchestral arrangements. You're struck by the clear and crisp tones of the instrumentation, there is piano, a cello, lots of orchestral keys, and they are all compelled forward nicely with modern beats.
Read More...
View All Articles By Andrew Smit

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • RAIN ON ME
    Lady Gaga And Ariana Grande
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem