24 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dark Water - Album Review: You're Only As Addicted As You're Willing To Be

21 Nov 2016 // A review by Carl Hayman

Only a few days ago, my band Poison Skies shared a stage in New Plymouth with a band that I have never heard of before called Dark Water. The next night, I heard that they have a brand new album out titled You’re Only As Addicted As You’re Willing To Be so I promptly stuck up my hand and asked if I could be the guy to write a review it.

I'm writing this review from both a live show perspective and an album perspective because they are so fresh in my mind right now, and I’m going to be fairly honest with what I write here, but bear with me as I really like these guys.

First track – Old Town Of Visoki, awesome build into their album. Takes a while to wind in, growly vocals over a trick drumline, and some nice moving basslines. Melodic, yet harsh vocals, growly gravelly, somewhat reminiscent of the late Kurt Cobain, or even more-so like Shaun Morgan from Seether. By track 10 Ashtray you also wonder if you are listening to a little bit of Jack Black.

My favourite track off the album is number 6 - Melee. The guitar riff that drives this is wicked, the feel of the verse/pre-chorus screams Lateralus by Tool, but then the Chorus screams out Soundgarden all over.

The whole album really takes me back to an era of rock that doesn’t date. Only You has bits of Sting’s famous Sending out an SOS at the beginning, but then takes a whole direction into this big power-balad chorus that does nice things to the tinnitus of my slightly damaged rock-drummer hearing. It has absolutely beautiful female backing vocals that are so different from the melody vocals, but they complement so very perfectly.

I thought I had better do a notable mention - Dark Water have a female bass player, and she rips! not like its unexpected that a female could possibly shred on bass, but she is amongst one of the best live bass players I've seen full stop. 

Now for the honest part – and I only give this opinion after having heard how massive their live sound is. The recording quality is good, but it’s not huge. I’m unsure if the album has been through a mastering studio, but I feel like one of the bigger mastering studios such as Studio 301 in Australia or Sterling Sound in New York had gotten their grubby little mits on the album, it would have given it another 20% punch in the guts in volume/body terms.  

My overall opinion – Wicked album, great musicians, insanely good bass player, great drum tracks, sweet guitars with tasteful effects, and for a 3 piece band they sound massive. I think the sound of the album doesn’t truly represent how huge the band sound live, but nevertheless, it’s a great album and well worth putting your hand in your pocket for. Wicked stuff Dark Water! 

 

About Dark Water

DARK WATER are a three piece Taranaki, alternative Rock band formed in 2009.

DARK WATER started life as a four piece, after a lineup change, they are now a hard hitting three piece. Their first year together was spent developing their sound and style, which has developed into a gripping yet gritty sound with a heaviness that enfolds melody.

DARK WATER have already started making a name for themselves having played at G Taranaki and opening for Shihad, The Feelers, I Am Giant and The Checks in their home town of New Plymouth. .

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dark Water

Releases

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa
11 Sep 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa. Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining
27 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining. I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.
Read More...
Michael Signal - EP Review: Direct Injection
21 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Take the members of Motley Crue, slide an IV Drip into their veins, fill the bag with pure full caffeinated coffee, then let them write an album. That’s probably the best description I can come up with for this EP.
Read More...
Album Review: Hive Mind
07 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Hive Mind the five-piece rock act based out of Wellington have just dropped their brand new self-titled 12 track album, and it is quite simply superb. I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I opened the first track War Story.
Read More...
Chazz Valentine - Album Review: Generation Y
28 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Remember when bands such as Blink 182, Sum 41, Frenzal Rhomb, Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Reel Big Fish were the epitome of summer? Throwing the surfboards in the back of the wagon, cranking the tunes, and heading to the beach for an epic day in the sun with the boys and even the occasional girl?
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem