4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lola Sola - Album Review: Walking Back From Hell

29 Oct 2016 // A review by Ria Loveder

Acoustic folk songstress, Lola Sola has graced lovers of all things folkie with her gorgeous album Walking Back From Hell.

This album is raw, jam packed full of soul and emotion. Her cool sultry voice paired with her sentimental song writing creates haunting tracks.

Lola’s honesty in her songwriting leaves her tracks pulling on your heartstrings. Her lyrics will take you on a vivid journey where you can get lost in the emotion and spirit of the story.

I honestly couldn’t pick a song I enjoyed more. Her voice is passionate and sometimes heartbreaking, as she sings about situations that she seems to have a very powerful connection to. Delicate harmonies and fine guitar riffs compliment her voice perfectly.

This album is a collection of dreamy sounding gems that will leave you wanting more.

I am so glad I was asked to review Lola’s album, as I haven’t heard from a folk artist that I could get really excited about in a while. Now, I have this to play! I would love to attend one of her gigs when she graces us with her musical talents later this month, fingers crossed I get to!

 

About Lola Sola

With her roots in Aotearoa (NZ), Lola Sola is a singer-songwriter with a dynamic vocal range and emotive lyrics; blending folk, soul and a hint of blues. In late 2015, following a successful crowd-funding campaign, she went on to record an EP and tour New Zealand. Currently based in Sydney Australia, she has released her first studio album Walking Back from Hell, a stripped-back collection of originals recorded at A Sharp Recording Studios with producers, Richard Lake & Joe Sharratt.

Lola’s solo performances are intimate and captivating. Her shows are always developing with the different collaborative efforts of the musicians she works with.

Walking Back from Hell is a collection of honest song writing. Pairing haunting lyrics with delicate harmonies and simple guitar riffs, it sets a backdrop of an artist who has a powerful connection to her experiences and a lot more stories to tell.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lola Sola

Releases

Walking Back From Hell
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Black Barn, Hawke's Bay - 22/12/2019
11 Jan 2020 // by Ria Loveder
The weather leading to Sunday 22nd of December was unreliably sprinkled with a little bit of unpredictability. Luckily for the people that flocked to the gorgeous Black Barn Amphitheatre in the Hawke’s Bay to the sold-out L.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Phone Face
06 Aug 2019 // by Ria Loveder
For lovers of blues, funk and everything else in between, you have found yourself in the right place. Created and grown into a sexy meld of soul and RnB in a basement in Auckland, Jessy & The Volunteers’ have debuted their song and video Phone Face.
Read More...
Annie J - Single Review: Whenever You Leave Me
31 Mar 2019 // by Ria Loveder
Annie J’s song Whenever You Leave Me is one that all teenagers can relate to; that relationship that you want to be in, but distance seems to come creeping in. The lyrics are mature beyond her years and at the young age of 15; she’s showing that she has the writing capabilities to produce mature, insightful music.
Read More...
Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem