18 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Churlington - EP Review: Act Scared, Get Behind Him, Keep Him Busy, Screw You Bozo

22 Sep 2016 // A review by Peter-James Dries

While I was still up there, Churlington got a lot of airplay on Palmy's Radio Control 99.4FM local show. At least a couple of tracks a show, which is probably made easier when the track lengths sit at a radio friendly one to two minutes a pop.

Short and... Well. No. Not sweet. Not in any traditional sense. More in a Dude! Where's my Car? definition or the word.
No. It's rough as guts. A sea of noise. Like old school Die! Die! Die! Claustrophobically mixed and muddier than the Manawatu river.

You remember that video of Blur's Song 2, where the band are thrown around the room. That's this album. Act Scared, Get Behind Him, Keep Him Busy, Screw You Bozo offers some of the most intense minutes experienced since the fictional Misplaced Abortion's third record, from that TV show Skins.

Intricate isn't usually associated with the punk genre, and it's not the word I'm looking for. This isn't your run-of-the-mill "punk" album, where the simplicity is made up for in the intensity.

But there are intricacies on this album, mixed within the screams of tortured instruments, between the blast beats, that keep the mind interested. And although you can't hear it, there's a strange poetry to the lyrics, relatable to those of our generation of pointless, aimless, cheated by those before us youths.

One of the band's idiosyncrasies, the convention of re-appropriating obscure quotes as ridiculously long song titles returns, this time taking track names from late eighties classic, Short Circuit 2. It's an interesting quirk, and a good way to get the band remembered, which is what the band deserved. Like most underground kiwi bands, they deserved to be a lot more well known than they are.

If you know and love Churlington's previous works, you already know about Act Scared, Get Behind Him, Keep Him Busy, Screw You Bozo.

But, if you don't know Churlington, or if you haven't heard Act Scared, Get Behind Him, Keep Him Busy, Screw You Bozo, do it now. It'll only take you a few minutes. If you aren't blown away, your speakers aren't loud enough.

You can find Act Scared, Get Behind Him, Keep Him Busy, Screw You Bozo on the Churlington Bandcamp

 

About Churlington

We are Churlington.

https://horsepants.bandcamp.com/


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Churlington

Releases

Untitled
Year: 2018
Type: EP
The Andy Anderson EP
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Churlington Suck Live
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Ray Brower
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem