2 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Prizegiving - Album Review: No Harm Done

05 Jul 2016 // A review by Tony McDonald

Don’t think about buying the cassette from Bandcamp because it's sold out. Is that a good thing? Let’s find out.

Well if you don’t like long songs this could be for you. Nine short songs fill out the album, and I mean short. A very nice acoustic number at one minute thirty seven seconds is Blood Pressure, the 5th track on the album. Now that is a short song I'm sure you'll agree.

I take great pleasure in listening to songs that are not over the top and in your face, and No Harm Done gets it spot on.

It’s raw (not over produced) and full of quite beautiful vocals (local NZ names thrown in for good measure e.g. Picton), and simple melodies with good rememberable hooks.

My favourite track is Soft (Track 2) and I can’t believe I missed them playing one of my favourite venues the other day, Moon in Newtown, Wellington. I'm sure it won't be long until they are back!

This is worth a listen, check it out here.

 

About Prizegiving

Prizegiving are an emo-pop outfit from Wellington, New Zealand. For a while they were known as Tuff Wizard, until one of them had enough sense to change that. The five-piece blend their love for dogs with a strange desire to rekindle things with ex-lovers, and as a result have found a musical niche that sits somewhere between the bouncy vibes of indie-pop and the melancholic musings of your favourite teenage emo band.

In June 2016 Prizegiving released their debut album No Harm done on Papaiti Records and Sleepover Records.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Prizegiving

Releases

No Harm Done
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Violet Highway - Single Review - Sick of Waiting
12 May 2022 // by Tony McDonald
I love the ending to this pop rock song - it's not your typical finish... so, make sure to check the song out all the way through.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem