2 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

PlasticGroove - EP Review: Feel

05 Jul 2016 // A review by Peter-James Dries

One of three EPs to be released this year, PlasticGroove’s Feel EP is so far removed from previous PlasticGroove efforts, which in my previous experience have been colourful adventures into a post-futurist 80’s synth-rock soundscape.

This is a different set of textures entirely. Esoteric Experimental Electronica, all beaty and pianoish. More stretched out than hard hitting. More explorative than expressive. Less Pet Shop Boys, more David Lynch. More Radio Active/George FM, less The Sound/Magic FM.

The stand out track for many listeners I can see being Feel the Fever, which is the more upbeat and accessible track for the average listener, and Huia’s voice suiting the sampled break beat style.

However, the track that I personally enjoyed the most was Like A Dog, which apart from the orchestral intro is perhaps the least accessible track, with the most relatable lyrics.

The Feel EP may not be the definitive PlasticGroove release; it’s a mish-mosh of ideas, and an experiment into new sounds to test the waters perhaps, as EPs generally are. 

Greatest hits or not, it’s a good set of ideas worth exploring. Like a selfie, it’s an image that captures this moment in time for PlasticGroove. I’m curious to see if this meandering develops into a new direction.

You can find PlasticGroove’s Feel EP on iTunes.

 

About PlasticGroove

PlasticGroove are a retro futurist Kiwi band from Wellington, New Zealand. A multi instrumentalist attack combines 80's new wave and modern rock influences into a toe tapping, head banging, butt shaking frenzy.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for PlasticGroove

Releases

Feel
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Shadowcaster - Single Review: Friends
18 Dec 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder how performers choose their stage names. Is Trent Graham, Shadowcaster’s ringleader, taller than average?
Read More...
0800 Belly Up - Single Review: Kick Ons
28 Nov 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
If you feel you would enjoy punk rock better if they showered more often and put a bit more effort in, then this is the band for you. If you love shouting back at bands when they yell lyrics at you, then this is the song for you.
Read More...
The Treasury - EP Review: Shimmer / I'll Return From On The Sea
29 Oct 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I get a lot of pretty obscure releases thrown my way. For every Six60 single, there are fifty songs you will never hear, from artists you have never heard of.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Bite the Wax Tadpole
14 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
The Hopkinsville Goblins is always a challenging review. If you want it done right, you really need some hard-broiled journalist from a bygone era on the job, not some gumshoe with a grudge like me.
Read More...
Young Moon - EP Review: Paraverbal Orchids
06 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is this Japanese art form called Kintsugi – Golden Joinery – which is a method of mending cracks in broken pottery with gold. The idea is that the broken pieces are part of the object’s history, so are something to remember rather than something to hide.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: Locksmith
31 Aug 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
Across their body of work, Imposter Syndrome have been known for their blurring of the lines between sub-genres and laying waste to the traditional ideas of song structure. Well, that’s what they’re known for to me at least.
Read More...
Rhombus - Album Review: After Party
26 May 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.
Read More...
Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem