25 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jay Clarkson - Album Review: Spur

03 Jun 2016 // A review by Peter-James Dries

It’s been a month of Dunedin music for me, albeit accidentally, though certainly fitting with the month of May being the celebration of New Zealand music. 

In this listening stint and a moment of clarity, I discovered the “Dunedin” sound, or so I had thought. 

With a musical career longer than my life, Jay Clarkson probably knows more about the sounds of “Southern Edinburgh” than most, and from that comes Spur, an album with a soundscape far removed from the sounds I’ve heard of late.

Laidback and lofty, a sojourn through time and mood, Spur is a place where the airy melodies of Folk meet the subdued sch-clack of the Railroad Blues. For the most part acoustic, it is a vehicle for that Bob Dylan type storytelling and nostalgia.

As a collection of songs written over a period of four years, the songs tie together in some sort of love story, told through fleeting moments of observation, the ebb and flow of tide like moods conveyed through Clarkson's distinctive voice, and swelling finger-picking, culminating in the instrumental tumble-weed track Spur, which rounds out the album.

You can find Spur on the Jay Clarkson website, and if you like what you hear, look out for her contribution to the upcoming second Robert Burns tribute, the sequel to Ae Fond Kiss.

 

About Jay Clarkson

Having been writing songs and performing them for over a decade, Clarkson's individual style is well honed indeed. Her band Breathing Cage won the Rheineck Rock Award in 1989. Jay's musical influences include Roy Orbison and Roger Miller.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jay Clarkson

Releases

Packet
Year: ????
Type: Album
Spur
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Over The Mountain
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Kindle
Year: 1999
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • EARFQUAKE
    Tyler, The Creator
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem