21 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shihad - Gig Review: Shihad @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 1/5/2016

06 May 2016 // A review by Andrew Smit

Unlike the anxiety felt by a congregation waiting for the obligatory late bride, the crowd waiting for Shihad to arrive after a cancelled flight were merely suppressing the energy required to jump through a banging set of "real fucking drum and bass" (quote Jon Toogood). In what was supposed to be a 50 minute set on a Sunday night after two previous gigs earlier in Christchurch and Wellington, our four home-grown heroes ripped the snot out of the Mt Eden night to prove that the NZ music industry is still in good hands. Shihad still have 'it' and some bunch of metalheads from the UK with their own private 747 playing down at the Vector couldn't stop the hardcore fans packing into the Powerstation for a dose of uncompromising Kiwi rock.

Kicking off the show with Home Again, Jon goes straight up to the mic and yells “everybody fucking jump” which we all did of course, and then lights flooded the stage and we were impressed to see Jon and the band jumping about with amazing enthusiasm and vigour. After two songs Mr Toogood did admit, “we’re fucking knackered”, but said that the energy coming from the room was so powerful that we could spur them to be even better. Now we may have forgiven Jon if he turned up with a voice that's a bit hoarse and a body action that’s a bit slower than usual but this guy had more energy than anyone in the mosh pit collectively, and that voice maintained its full range for the whole show, which went for 90 minutes including an encore that was worth chanting for.

Jon worked his space well and even had the front rows wondering if he was going to launch himself off the stage for an epic crowd surf, not tonight. The ever-consummate professional wouldn't risk screwing up a chord for such a discerning crowd of Shihad purists, plus he was wearing a bloody nice pair of boots which he may not wanted to risk losing to boot.

I have no idea what size Tom Larkin's boot size is but his foot pedal was being smashed down rhythmically and exceedingly hard, you almost begun to question whether he could split the earth in half with each kick. The raw amplified drum sound was blasting away at my shirt and playing havoc with my heart rate, man he worked that kit so hard it must have been bolted down.

Karl Kippenberger is the only bass player I've ever seen smile through a sound wave so powerful that the fabric of time and space looks set to succumb while us mere mortals in the front of the stage look up in fear as his fingers become a blur over his four strings of death. Phil Knight laid down the fundamental chords with a calmness that reeked of accomplishment, then succumbed to the signature riffs and danced around the stage which had the Moshies bouncing and a throng of raised hands punching the air and waving eagerly for more.

In a set list that's only glaring omission was Pacifier, we rocked to the best and better of a round dozen of Shihad classics. Few bands can come back on stage for a multi song encore with anything as powerful as The General Electric which was sublime in its intensity. The whole level of energy and precision on display would have blown you away as a standalone gig, let alone the third of a jet setting 3 city set executed over 11 hours.

They gratefully accepted our applause and we all joined in the mandatory crowd selfie. We all went home very impressed and more than satisfied with the entertainment provided, I can’t wait to see them again and I am sure most felt that way too. Surprisingly the band fronted up at the end of a gig to shake hands and graciously have selfies taken with the fans, how genuine are they, from sublime rock performance to approachable heroes, the crowd applauds them for it, and they will time and again.

 

About Shihad

Shihad has been blasting our airwaves with incredible songs since 1998, and ever since those early days in Wellington they have proven time and time again that they are one of the best and most loved Rock bands to ever come out of New Zealand.

Their boundary-pushing debut album Churn was released in 1993, produced by the outstanding Jaz Coleman and recorded in the legendary York Street Studios in Parnell. Churn was the first album to be recorded at the iconic studios, and so it was fitting that Shihad's 2014 album FVEY was also recorded there, again with Jaz at the helm.

Fast forward to 2018 and Shihad have released nine studio albums (five of which went to #1 in NZ), 3 EPs and countless memorable singles, survived a name change, personal triumphs and tragedies, travelled allover the world with endless tours, sold out headline shows and shared stages at major local and international festivals and toured with musical heroes such as Motorhead, Metallica, Faith No More and AC/DC.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shihad

Releases

FVEY
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Ignite
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Beautiful Machine
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Love Is The New Hate
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Alive
Year: 2005
Type: EP
The General Electric
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Blue Light Disco
Year: 1998
Type: EP
B-Sides
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Shihad
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Killjoy
Year: 1995
Type: Album
Churn
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Devolve
Year: 1991
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Andrew Smit

Sonic Delusion - Album Review: Anything Goes
11 Jun 2019 // by Andrew Smit
What a wonderfully positive experience it was to review Sonic Delusion's new album Anything Goes. 10 tracks of splendidly good tunes that make you feel good, with catchy grooves and upbeat rhythms, the music is best described as a kind of funky folk pop but with extra fizz, and sparkle, that is so easy to enjoy.
Read More...
Kingsland - Single Review: The Motto
30 Apr 2019 // by Andrew Smit
A very groovy pop rock sound is the first thing that strikes you when listening to Kingsland’s latest single The Motto. Driven by a very upbeat vibe that seizes you wholeheartedly, this tuneful track is packed with chunky guitar licks that are wonderfully bluesy and soulful.
Read More...
Eyreton Hall - Single Review: Weekend
26 Mar 2019 // by Andrew Smit
Another smooth and gratifying song by Eyreton Hall, that soothes the senses with its easy flowing style and melodic grace. With steady rhythmic folk music that rolls along so sweetly and is sprinkled with lovely colour spurts dispensed by a flirting electric guitar and keyboards.
Read More...
Etheran - Single Review: Let Me Go
12 Feb 2019 // by Andrew Smit
Opening with a formidable power riff this debut track from Christchurch based Etheran really grabs you by the throat, and it's a track that has many shades. The strong melodic verses that are sung by the clean voice of lead singer Lita Macabeo is smooth and wholesome, whereas the chorus sections burst with scolding vocals and a burst of drums that lifts the power and emotion with great intensity.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Album Review: Bite Me
04 Dec 2018 // by Andrew Smit
Finally, there is a children’s album that you can chomp into with glee, fleaBITE are the band and Bite Me is the album, and it's full of surprises, where every song is like a bursting musical festival. As a father of two young ones I have had many hours listening to albums full of standard nursery rhyming fair that after a couple of repeats would start to affect your sanity.
Read More...
Chris William - EP Review: Out of Sight
18 Sep 2018 // by Andrew Smit
Out of Sight is an EP with 10 very easy on the ear compositions, with gentle serenading tunes, accompanied by Chris William's velvet vocals that glide on deft orchestral arrangements. You're struck by the clear and crisp tones of the instrumentation, there is piano, a cello, lots of orchestral keys, and they are all compelled forward nicely with modern beats.
Read More...
Vallé - Single Review: Love Me
17 Aug 2018 // by Andrew Smit
After a short and dreamy musical intro, the rap begins and it’s an assured and clear rap, and Vallé's Love Me sounds sublime. The classic syncopation of rhythm and rhyme is performed with a cool style, but it's also intense and stirring.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single/Video Review: In Your Mind
26 Jun 2018 // by Andrew Smit
A tenderly plucked guitar leads to some nice rhythmic strums, which is then united with a suitably soothing vocal, it’s a nice start that presents well the songs musical quality. In your Mind is a beautiful sounding song that also delivers a clear message, a message that many will find heartening to see presented as it is in the music video.
Read More...
View All Articles By Andrew Smit

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • ANTISOCIAL
    Ed Sheeran feat. Travis Scott
  • REMEMBER THE NAME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Eminem And 50 Cent
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem