29 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Datsuns - Gig Review: The Datsuns @ Kings Arms, Auckand - 1/04/2016

15 Apr 2016 // A review by Kerry Monaghan

It’s not easy getting them all in the same country at the same time, but back for the first time since 2014, Kiwi rock n roll pioneers, The Datsuns still know how to put on a damn good show and fill a crowd.

Kicking off the night with support from Bloodbags. Four guys over 6ft tall sweating out dirty, raw garage rock. They are everything you want garage punk rock to be and feel, and had some killer songs that helped set the tone for the night. If you’re familiar with The Kings Arms (as I’m sure nearly everyone is) it’s a small place, but The Datsuns and Bloodbags certainly made sure every inch of space was filled.

Bloodbags definitely got the crowd going and they were a lot of fun to watch onstage. As soon as The Datsuns were about to hit the stage, cue the frenzy as many rushed from their respective corners to find a good vantage point. I remember seeing The Datsuns many times in the UK as a teenager and I was secretly stoked that they still get this kind of attention all these years later.

The Datsuns busted out an epic set list, including some from their classic self-titled debut album and the coolest cover of Fortune Son. The crowd went wild, and even some crowd surfing went down. The Datsuns have refined their sound impressively over the years, and they still have that gritty rock n roll swag that everyone knows and love, with a mature Black Sabbath esque punch with a lot of their newer material. Pulling out all stops with favourites old and new, punters and probably even the bar staff, looked like they went home sated that night knowing one of New Zealand’s finest rock n roll outfits hasn't lost their touch.

 

About The Datsuns

A record that sprang from an experiment in Space and Time: The geographical Space between the four band members who all live in different parts of the world, and the short pocket of Time they had together in the same country to put something to tape.

‘The narrative of Deep Sleep is this: we got together, we wrote some songs and we recorded them in the space of ten days,’ says de Borst, ‘It was basically an experiment to see if we could do it and this is what we got, for better or worse. We had this manifesto of ‘we have to do this fast, it needs to fit within these sonic parameters, and we want to keep it simple.’’

Their almost nuclear family-like existence changed around five years ago when the four members settled in separate cities. Singer/bassist Dolf de Borst put down roots in Stockholm, Sweden, building a recording studio with Nicke Andersson (The Hellacopters, Imperial State Electric); guitarist Christian Livingstone returned to London, embracing the ways of a mad fuzz scientist and birthing his own FX pedal company, Magnetic Effects; guitarist Phil Somervell returned from Germany to Auckland, New Zealand, continuing his work as a squash coach and dabbling with other musical projects; and drummer Ben Cole, based himself permanently out of Wellington working as a session musician and playing with The Joint Chiefs and the Craig Terris Band.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Datsuns

Releases

Eye To Eye
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Deep Sleep
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Death Rattle Boogie
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Headstunts
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Stuck Here For Days
Year: 2006
Type: EP
Smoke & Mirrors
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Outta Sight/Outta Mind!!
Year: 2004
Type: Album
The Datsuns (Limited Edition)
Year: 2003
Type: Album
The Datsuns
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kerry Monaghan

Lakius - Single/Video Review: Here We Are Still
05 Jul 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Post-Industrial Metal duo Lakius have another explosive single, this time directly in reference to our country’s marijuana legislation falling short by a 2% margin last year.Here We Are Still is another assault to the senses.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Moving Pictures
23 May 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
If the name of Swerve City sounds familiar to you, you’re probably right in thinking that yes, it is in fact borrowed from a Deftones song. You might also recognize some of the line-up of Swerve City that were formally of/currently in bands like Fire at Will, Saints of Taboo and Armed in Advance (or for those that can remember way back, AKA, Stitches) Having just had the pleasure of reviewing Swerve City’s recent third single, Moving Pictures, I can tell listeners are in for a treat, especially if you’re a fan of alternative rock, metal undertones and pop sensibilities.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Damned Anthem
29 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
East York are back with their third single, Damned Anthem. With two singles firmly under belt, East York continue to go from strength to strength with their creativity and musicality.
Read More...
Scorn Of Creation - Album Review: Annihilation Cult
11 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Following the success of their debut album released in 2018, Scorn of Creation are back with another explosive piece of their unforgettable doom death metal with an edge, Annihilation Cult. With ten tracks full of creativity, guttural screams and intensity there is no mistaking the high energy chaos that descends upon your ears and sends you into oblivion.
Read More...
Etheran - EP Review: Doppelganger
26 Jan 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Etheran is a funky metal rock hybrid hailing from Christchurch. Formed in 2016, they officially started touring in 2018 and this is their first EP, released at the beginning of the month.
Read More...
Hateseeker - Album Review: Let's Talk About Death
13 Dec 2020 // by Kerry Monaghan
Formed in 2013 in New Plymouth, Hateseeker is a hybrid punk rock metal outfit with a twist. While they have been described as sounding a bit like Motorhead and The Ramones they are uniquely their own and bring their versions of hard and heavy riffs with a relentless energy.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Outsiders
08 Nov 2020 // by Kerry Monaghan
Comprised of three Kiwis, Zane Rosanoski (drums) Tarquin Keys (vocals) Daz Coppins (guitar), and a Canadian, Eric Boucher (bass). Formed in Melbourne during pandemic times comes the Rock quartet, East York.
Read More...
Tablefox - Single Review: Battles
29 Oct 2020 // by Kerry Monaghan
Since releasing their debut EP in 2013, Auckland alternative band, Tablefox have gone from strength to strength over the years and continued to broaden their horizons musically. 2020 has been no exception and on the eve of releasing their third album, Desire or Love, they’ve just dropped their fourth single, titled, Battles.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Monaghan

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem