5 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ruptus Jack - Ruptus Jack – Kings Arms - 17th November

23 Nov 2004 // A review by Carl Hayman
Myself and a few mates showed up to see Ruptus Jack kick off the You Don’t Know Jack tour at The Kings Arms on Wednesday the 27th of November.

First up was The Ryan Kershaw Band. I saw these guys play at The Poenamo Hotel a few months back as a two piece (drums and guitar/vocals) and they rocked hard!. They have since slotted in a bass player who fills out the sound nicely.

They pulled off a couple of wicked covers. This included the famous Voodoo Chile by Jimmy Hendrix and one by Pink Floyd which I can’t for the life of me remember the name of.

About 10.30pm or so Ruptus Jack hit the stage, a powerful five piece band from Auckland’s eastern suburbs, with an awesome rock sound. These guys remind me somewhat of another NZ band Stardrunk who are doing really well for themselves at the moment.

I think Ruptus Jack’s strong points are definitely the vocals, and the drums.
Catchy rhythms, and powerful strong drum grooves hook in nicely with the singers voice, which carries well over the top.

Their songs are very diverse – they carry from a hooky fast riff, into a slow dissonant guitar solo which almost doesn’t appear to fit, then ties back into the same hooky fast riff to finish the song.

With a good solid crowd to support them on a Wednesday night, Ruptus Jack’s singles carried on well – funnily enough, one of them was still stuck in my head by Saturday morning.

All in all, a wicked Wednsday night, definitely one of the better Wednesday nights I have had at the Kings Arms in a long time.

Churr,

Carl.
 

About Ruptus Jack

Ruptus Jack are an Auckland-based five-piece who have been described as an eclectic blend of metal, punk and drum 'n' bass. Extensive touring around New Zealand for the past 5 years has seen them rack up 2 nationwide tours and the release their debut EP titled 'Roses and French Lessons'.

Most recently in March 2006 Ruptus Jack jumped over the ditch to Australia to tour with Melbourne band Tenpenny Joke around New South Wales and Victoria.

Ruptus Jack's Debut Full Length Album will be out May 10th and they are touring NZ in May to promote it.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ruptus Jack

Releases

Ruptus Jack
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Roses and French Lessons
Year: 2005
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem