27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Helgorithms - Gig Review: Helgorithms @ The Royal, Palmerston North - 14/11/15

23 Dec 2015 // A review by terry666

The only support band I got to see was Porcelain and to be honest I was not that impressed with them. Although technically they were good, they lacked the energy and x factor so to speak in my opinion. They did not suit the line-up as it was more of a metal line up rather than a pop show, which I think would have been more suited for them.

I was very much looking forward to seeing Helgorithms; having heard of them and some of the members, so I had pretty high expectations and was not let down.

These guys play bass driven dirge like doom riddled heavy metal. Menacing and guttural growls that will leave your flesh crawling; they spew forth words and phrases that melted your face off. Frenetic and schizophrenic guitar riffs that grind and crunch along, make you feel like you have been through a meat grinder. This is not hard rock but oozing dripping nasty metal that will leave you stained for life.

To name a few bands that they remind me of I would have to say the first bands that came to mind were Triptykon and Devin Townsend not just musically but even down to the way they look and interact in their performance and they are not a band that just stand there and play but they very active. They put on an animated performance that was very enjoyable to watch.

The singer was so energetic in his performance that as soon as the show was finished he ran straight to the sound desk to find remedy for a bleeding foot.

They have released an EP on Bandcamp that is well worth checking out and I hope this band stays together for a long time to come as they certainly found a fan in the audience that night. Be sure to check out their EP and when they invade a town near you.

 

About Helgorithms

Helgorithms are a 3 piece post-metal band based in Auckland, drawing influence from bands such as Neurosis, Deafheaven, ISIS & Devin Townsend, they combine a flurry of techniques and deploy them to create songs that take the listener on an aural journey.

Utilising an 8 string guitar for the majority of material gives the songs a tonal palette that is left unutilised by modern bands that tend to stick to the typical chug of an 8 String guitar. Effects are used on both guitar and bass which open up a wide array of sounds not often heard in heavy music.

Helgorithms released their demo in October 2014 on Floppy Disk/Online as a way of doing something different compared to other bands, since playing their first live show in November 2014, Helgorithms have gained multiple international support slots, playing with bands such as The Ocean, Merauder, ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, as well as playing with local heavy weights such as The Heavy Metal Ninjas and Subtract.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Helgorithms

Releases

To The Mountains
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Realisation // Revelation
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem