5 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fire At Will - EP Review: Olympus 2.0

11 Dec 2015 // A review by Carl Hayman

Heavy heavy heavy!

Olympus 2.0 is a lot heavier than anything I've previously heard from Fire At Will. Super riffy, super shouty, heavy drums, heavy guitars, and some very low tuning.

I wouldn't describe them metal, but they certainly are on the much heavier spectrum of Rock.

Fire At Will have just unloaded their brand new E.P titled Olympus 2.0, and it's very, very cool. You've pretty much gotta be living in a hole somewhere if you haven't heard any of Fire At Will's tunes such as Can't Wait played on The Rock (they featured a while back on The Kiwi Rock Soundcheck).

The new tunes are on a much more mature songwriting level. Drums are solid and tight, Guitars sound like they have been dropped in tuning, but they are more dynamic in the way they sound from intricate melodic single notes, then big drops into dark chords with Hanu De Jong's powerful distinctive voice moving over the top with these massive vocal leads.

Drums are so solid and tight, and they entwine with the bass through multiple time signatures, beats, and grooves that fit really well, but are not necessarily expected which is a real compliment to the songwriting.

All of the tracks are very powerful, but I definitely feel the stand out song for me is Bloody Arcade. Perfect mosh tempo, you can pretty much close your eyes, and visions drop straight into your mind of a huge mosh-pit with hundreds of people going nuts in groove with the music.

To sum it up, this is one sweet E.P. The only thing that I think would really benefit Fire At Will's style would be to lay down an acoustic track - I get the feeling that it would definitely have a 'seether'ish' feel about it. Keep up the awesome work lads!

Olympus 2.0 is available on Bandcamp for 'pay what you want'.

 

About Fire At Will

Fire At Will are a 5 Piece Rock Band from Auckland, New Zealand. Formed in late 2010 by members of Auckland band My Asylum and South African Rock Icons The Narrow and Not My Dog.

Taking influence from Foo Fighters, Breaking Benjamin, Story Of The Year, Queens of the Stone Age and Rise Against along with their individual styles and past bands, Fire At Will deliver a unique brand of Hard Rock N Roll.

Fire At Will perform on stage as though they have been doing it together for years, yet they only formed in September 2010. With My Asylum playing shows extensively around Auckland and completing a North Island tour, guitarists Kev and Josh and Rhythm Section Will and Charlie give a solid backing to the vocal Powerhouse that is Hanu De Jong.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fire At Will

Releases

Olympus 2.0
Year: 2015
Type: EP
The Way Out
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem