17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

71 Sunset - Album Review: Bitter Earth

07 Dec 2015 // A review by Peter-James Dries

As promised by the previous outing, the Mule EP, 71 Sunset’s debut LP, Bitter Earth, is a deluge of tight riffage in their signature throw back to old school 70’s Hard Rock and 90’s alternative style.

Where Mule was a short, heavy hitting mix of four tracks showcasing the band’s best pieces and techniques, just long enough for a single attention span, Bitter Earth spreads the awesome over an entire album. Hard hitting from the start, there is a more Progressive element in a lot of the songs, and even the album itself seems to get heavier as it progressed.

Being a full length, there is more room to explore different influences and different techniques. I’m hearing pieces of Stone Temple Pilots, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Pantera, Mike Patton, and  other 90’s legends close to my heart. I’m not saying it’s experimental; 71 Sunset sound like they know what they’re doing, and that is escaping the pigeon hole and providing a wide array of styles and genres. But this isn’t a tribute album, or a cover band, in the same way Nirvana wasn’t a Led Zeppelin tribute band. This difference is the way 71 Sunset have taken the sounds that influenced them and used them to build their own unique sound.

Bitter Earth is a raw record, not to the point of sounding like it’s recorded on a tape deck in a prison, but enough to sound like a true performance. In a lot of places it’s heavier than the preceding EP, and in others there’s more of an Easy-listening classic rock motif.

While Bitter Earth may not provide the next big New Zealand rock hit, this is in no way forgettable album. 71 Sunset have amalgamated the best of the nineties into a cohesive album that is worthy of a place amongst the great bands of that generation.

You can download and stream Bitter Earth from the Seventy One Sunset Bandcamp Page.

 

About 71 Sunset

71 Sunset are an alternative-rock band based in Auckland, who have drawn on a vast range of influences to create their own unique sound.

Signed to AAA Records late in 2013, the self-produced Mule EP (recorded with Andrew Buckton at studio 203) was released on the label early in 2014. The EP's title track and video received strong radio and TV play, as well as receiving critical recognition both inside and outside New Zealand.

MetalMusicArchives.com said "There is a real honesty about this music, it feels 'real' and grunty in an era when music often feels false and manufactured" while Muzic.net.nz followed that with "The music of 71 Sunset has been described by the Rock FM as "great hooks and solid riffs". An apt description of what can also be described as a throwback to seventies Hard Rock with a modern twist. Hard and fast, an EP just isn't enough. I can't wait to see more released from these guys."

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for 71 Sunset

Releases

Bitter Earth
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Mule
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem