24 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

71 Sunset - Album Review: Bitter Earth

07 Dec 2015 // A review by Peter-James Dries

As promised by the previous outing, the Mule EP, 71 Sunset’s debut LP, Bitter Earth, is a deluge of tight riffage in their signature throw back to old school 70’s Hard Rock and 90’s alternative style.

Where Mule was a short, heavy hitting mix of four tracks showcasing the band’s best pieces and techniques, just long enough for a single attention span, Bitter Earth spreads the awesome over an entire album. Hard hitting from the start, there is a more Progressive element in a lot of the songs, and even the album itself seems to get heavier as it progressed.

Being a full length, there is more room to explore different influences and different techniques. I’m hearing pieces of Stone Temple Pilots, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Pantera, Mike Patton, and  other 90’s legends close to my heart. I’m not saying it’s experimental; 71 Sunset sound like they know what they’re doing, and that is escaping the pigeon hole and providing a wide array of styles and genres. But this isn’t a tribute album, or a cover band, in the same way Nirvana wasn’t a Led Zeppelin tribute band. This difference is the way 71 Sunset have taken the sounds that influenced them and used them to build their own unique sound.

Bitter Earth is a raw record, not to the point of sounding like it’s recorded on a tape deck in a prison, but enough to sound like a true performance. In a lot of places it’s heavier than the preceding EP, and in others there’s more of an Easy-listening classic rock motif.

While Bitter Earth may not provide the next big New Zealand rock hit, this is in no way forgettable album. 71 Sunset have amalgamated the best of the nineties into a cohesive album that is worthy of a place amongst the great bands of that generation.

You can download and stream Bitter Earth from the Seventy One Sunset Bandcamp Page.

 

About 71 Sunset

71 Sunset are an alternative-rock band based in Auckland, who have drawn on a vast range of influences to create their own unique sound.

Signed to AAA Records late in 2013, the self-produced Mule EP (recorded with Andrew Buckton at studio 203) was released on the label early in 2014. The EP's title track and video received strong radio and TV play, as well as receiving critical recognition both inside and outside New Zealand.

MetalMusicArchives.com said "There is a real honesty about this music, it feels 'real' and grunty in an era when music often feels false and manufactured" while Muzic.net.nz followed that with "The music of 71 Sunset has been described by the Rock FM as "great hooks and solid riffs". An apt description of what can also be described as a throwback to seventies Hard Rock with a modern twist. Hard and fast, an EP just isn't enough. I can't wait to see more released from these guys."

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for 71 Sunset

Releases

Bitter Earth
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Mule
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
Social Shun - Album Review: Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins
24 Sep 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins: An experiment-like review for an experimental album. Observations Muffins: Warm.
Read More...
Aaron Carpenter and The Revelators - EP Review: Roll with the Punches
20 Aug 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
The last bastions of real music in a world that celebrates mediocrity are the minnows swimming against the current of the mainstream.   What is the mainstream nowadays?
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem