27 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Churlington - Album Review: Wally Wick... Some Kind Of Rodent

05 Nov 2015 // A review by Photographer

Churlington’s Wally Wick​.​.​. ​Some Kind Of Rodent has such a deliciously NZ flavour. With six tracks, and not one over two minutes, this is a sweet short treat. A lot of music is packed into this time and it has been strung together with the mania and rawness that was a ‘90s NZ signature.

In parts it is a confusing listen. This is an asset. Music that challenges you and forces you in to a different perspective is interesting and unpredictable. I enjoyed the fact that it was hard to get my head around this album because it meant that I hadn’t heard this kind of creation before, and that is cool.

The track Cats and Dogs, Living Together! Mass Hysteria instantly made me think how fun they’d be to see live. This collection of songs seems to have come out untainted by the ‘You Should Always’ part of the music industry – they don’t feel compromised, they feel like they have been made by musicians that just want to do what they do.

I noticed a couple of hat tips to other NZ bands like The Headless Chickens and Head Like a Hole. On the whole, it is a manic, punky and borderline poppish set of tracks.

This album is definitely worth a repeated listen. I had to listen a few times to build a picture of it in my head, so play it, and go back to it. I hope I get to see them live at some point.

 

About Churlington

We are Churlington.

https://horsepants.bandcamp.com/


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Churlington

Releases

Untitled
Year: 2018
Type: EP
The Andy Anderson EP
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Churlington Suck Live
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Ray Brower
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Photographer

Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones - Album Review: Sand
04 Mar 2017 // by Photographer
Miss Peach and the Travellin’ Bones have released an album called Sand.  This album is beyond stunning.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: The Electric Sun/Streets of Gold
05 Nov 2016 // by Photographer
A release by New Zealand based Apollo SteamTrain, the 'Double A Side' single The Electric Sun/Streets Of Gold is a neat way to feature the strengths of the band. Well recorded, these two songs are pleasantly composed with much thought put in to the tones and soundscape used.
Read More...
Mishap - EP Review: Toaster
05 Nov 2016 // by Photographer
Enthusiastically honest lyrics and a homely, familiar flavour are the initial hits when yourToaster EP pops. Mishap hauls in the spirits of Green Day (Dookie Days) and I’m going to say a smearing of Smash-era Offspring to bring you their musical offering.
Read More...
EP Review: Bonfire Baby
05 Nov 2016 // by Photographer
Running out to the car, late as usual, I checked the letterbox on the way through, finding this wee gem in there. I was off on a road trip with no-one, giving me plenty of time to conceive the following words that will explain my experience with Bonfire Baby.
Read More...
Gig Review: Head Like A Hole @ Galatos, Auckland - 6/08/2015
19 Aug 2015 // by Photographer
The last time I saw Head Like A Hole I was a teenager and I was in no state to form any kind of opinion on what I had just seen, other than knowing that once again I had loved it. Fast forward 20 or so years and I was completely amped to be making my way to Galatos in Auckland to see and photograph Head Like a Hole playing with 8 Foot Sativa.
Read More...
Ahjay Stelino - Album Review: Music Therapy Songs for Special Kids
09 Jun 2015 // by Photographer
It’s not often my two jobs overlap, by night I am a music photographer and reviewer and by day I am an early intervention teacher, supporting preschool children with disabilities in their early education.  So I was quite excited to be asked to review Ahjay Stelino’s Music Therapy Songs for Special Kids.
Read More...
View All Articles By Photographer

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem