5 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Single Review: Spin It Wide by Andy Snadden

02 Nov 2015 // A review by Peter-James Dries

By the time you read this the 2015 Rugby World Cup will be over, though the hype and gripes may continue until the next. Though I neither enjoy partaking nor watching sport, I’ve played along when quizzed about it, having picked up enough information from everyone else to hold half a conversation.

And despite my disdain for any recreation that requires physical activity, I can still appreciate the odd rugby themed song, such as Andy Snadden’s Spin It Wide.

Catchy, as all anthems are, Spin It Wide, is one of those songs that get caught in your head, and being part of the easy listening genre it’s the kind of song that isn’t like a cheese grater to the ear hole, like most noises at 4am, so is the perfect song to accompany an early morning rugby final.

It’s a particularly Kiwi song, maybe it’s accent, maybe it’s the style, but something in the song brings to mind that old farmer stereotype of gumboots and a black singlet. Written as an All Black supporter’s song, it’s definitely fitting. With the intention of bringing our boys-in-black home victorious, I can imagine this song fading into obscurity had the results of the final been any different.

Sadly, like Fiona McDonald’s appropriation of Fred Godfrey’s Bless/F*** ‘Em All for RWC 1999, or your mum’s Christmas compilation, seasonal/event themed songs are often doomed to be put away once the event is over. Here’s hoping the song is promoted more next time it’s relevant so more people get to hear it.

You can still listen to Spin It Wide on Soundcloud or YouTube. Save the link for the next international rugby match.

 

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
Dharmarat - Album Review: WLKNZ
24 Dec 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This review took a long time. This isn’t my usual genre.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem