19 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Terror in Disguise

20 Oct 2015 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Curlys Jewels, the band behind No Apostrophe and the Fling Flang Flonge EP, are proud to announce (and rightly so) their newest single Terror in Disguise, a song that stands head and shoulders above their back catalogue, in terms of quality and also stylistically.  

It sounds like Curlys Jewels took a right turn at the 90’s Grunge crossroads and produced, in the words of their PledgeMe page, “a Mint Track.” The new single is hard hitting, modern rock, deserving of a crowded main stage, and not just a back street bar. While I personally enjoyed some of their more bluesy tracks on their last album, which was where the emotional depth lay, and the sing-along bar band tracks where Janelle (singer) really pushed her voice, Terror in Disguise is the type of hard hitting track, modern and unique track that gets people salivating and excited to hear more from a band.

The result of a successful PledgeMe drive, Terror in Disguise may have just been the band testing the waters to see if the fans will bite; we know recording professionally isn’t cheap, so there’s no point banging out an album if no one is into it.  But if this is the quality and style of music the band are going to put into a full-release, then this is the kind of band that needs us as fans behind them, and the kind of music I’m willing to pay for.

On a side note, keep your eyes open for the Terror in Disguise music video in all its blood-splattered glory, which is due to drop this month. Just from the stills on the Curlys Jewels Facebook I can tell it’s going to be my kind of video.

You can find Terror in Disguise on the Curlys Jewels Bandcamp.

 

About Curlys Jewels

Curlys Jewels are an original hard rock band from Wellington which formed in 2011.

Off the back of a huge 2017 including the release of their EP The Skin We Shed, which peaked at #11 on the Official NZ Top 40 NZ Album chart, a successful North Island tour, support invitations from Kiwi rock giants Head Like A Hole and Devilskin and a performance at the NZ Tattoo and Art Festival 2017, Curlys Jewels are charging ahead into 2018.

They have just recorded a brand new single at Roundhead Studios in Auckland which will be released shortly. Watch this space!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
Social Shun - Album Review: Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins
24 Sep 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins: An experiment-like review for an experimental album. Observations Muffins: Warm.
Read More...
Aaron Carpenter and The Revelators - EP Review: Roll with the Punches
20 Aug 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
The last bastions of real music in a world that celebrates mediocrity are the minnows swimming against the current of the mainstream.   What is the mainstream nowadays?
Read More...
Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I think we have this decade’s Daniel Bedingfield on our hands. Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Fallout’s Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.
Read More...
Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musician’s whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem