20 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - EP Review: Oceanic

28 Aug 2015 // A review by Peter-James Dries

You know when a band only exists as a vehicle for the lead singer. This is not one of those bands. Though ex-Mile High vocalist Dity’s voice is prevalent on every track of Coridian’s Oceanic , you can tell from the outset that this was once an instrumental band. 

They wear their instrumental origins on their sleeve. It’s all in the progressions and the moods. The sound-scaping with the effects and the way they don’t use the same repetitious drum pattern with a fill every fourth bar and think they can get away with it. It’s about the voice blending into and being part of the music, as opposed to the music being constructed around the voice. 

I’m reminded of a little-known super-group of sorts, Soen. While their 2014 album Tellurian retained the distinctive Soen sound, it was a deviation from 2012’s Cognitive, which was critically panned for sounding more than a little Tool inspired. I mention this only because any comparisons made could prove detrimental to any further Coridian.

Pushing them into a peg hole shaped like Jakob and Kerretta because of the way all three bands treat music more as aural art than a money making personality cult, or in a box next to Chevelle because three of them have the same last name and they sound like Chevelle brings the risk the band will change their ways on the next release. Saying they’re how Incubus should have sounded might bring out more Incubus, and ain’t nobody got time for that.

Like Soen were good because they were this thinly veiled Tool tribute band, Coridian are good because of all the other bands they remind me of, and how they bring together the sounds I know into something different. Something unique. Something Coridian.

So you want a review of what Oceanic sounds like. It sounds like Coridian, and Coridian have a good thing going. Not to push them too quickly, but I’m looking forward to more.

You can find Oceanic on the Coridian Bandcamp or Soundcloud.

 

About Coridian

Better Off equals growth, change and adapting:

Better Off represents the next chapter for NZ’s Alt Rock brothers Coridian. This brand-new single is the beginning of Coridian’s new song cycle and the work towards their debut album, set for release in 2019. Better Off was produced by Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City of Souls) who worked on last year’s release Caldera and mastered by Systematic Productions (Architects/Intervals).

The song has been recently applauded in front of huge NZ audiences, as the band has come off recent tour cycles with Devilskin, Skinny Hobos and playing main support to US rockers POD at their Auckland show.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem