23 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Head Like A Hole - Gig Review: Head Like A Hole @ Galatos, Auckland - 6/08/2015

19 Aug 2015 // A review by Photographer

The last time I saw Head Like A Hole I was a teenager and I was in no state to form any kind of opinion on what I had just seen, other than knowing that once again I had loved it. Fast forward 20 or so years and I was completely amped to be making my way to Galatos in Auckland to see and photograph Head Like a Hole playing with 8 Foot Sativa.

8 Foot Sativa performed to their usual standard, rarking up the audience with their vicious and slamming style. They were such a coherent unit when they played; there was this certain interaction they had with each other that kept them tight but ruthless. Being in an 8 Foot Sativa crowds always see me bracing extra hard, those guys are mean.

Head Like A Hole took to the stage and it was just how I remembered their sets to be – frenetic, hyperactive, intense and unpredictable. There is something intangibly magical about seeing them live. The band as a whole have an utterly unique charisma and this was echoed through their entire set. I feel like I should tell you all the facts like how long they played for and what happened when, but after photographing four songs I chucked myself into the crowd and just enjoyed the gig. From that perspective though I can tell you just how good it sounded hearing songs like Cornbag, Hootenanny and Fish Across Face close up. 

The crowd (one of which was at his 14th HLAH show!) were very receptive to having a good time thrown at them in the form of raw energy, and with very little distance between the band and the crowd, it was an intimate gig.  

Head Like A Hole has kept their artistic spirit undiluted and it's the most uncomfortably beautiful thing.

 

About Head Like A Hole

Formed in Wellington, Head Like A Hole originally consisted of Booga Beazley, Nigel Regan, Andrew Durno and Mark Hamill. Like most young bands, they started out by playing small gigs at local pubs and at various well known live venues. Then quickly started touring the university circuit. The band soon made a name for themselves with energetic and often outrageous live performances, appearing on stage either naked, caked with mud, or covered completely in body paint.

Therefore forming a solid and dedicated following throughout the live music scene. Head like a Hole were soon signed to Wildside Records and began their recording career. 1992 saw the release of their debut album, 13 which the band largley produced themselves. The single Fish Across Face successfully made it into the New Zealand Top 10 charts. In keeping with Head Like a Hole tradition the video for Fish Across Face included a scene where Nigel regurgitates an orange substance into Booga’s mouth and was promptly pulled off air.

Head Like a Hole continued touring and performing the university orientation circuit. Then returned to the studio in 1993 to record their second album. Flik Y'Self off Y'Self. Which was released in stores in 1994 providing two singles. Faster Hooves and Spanish Goat Dancer. After the release of two successful records the band’s popularity and exposure increased, and so Head Like a Hole remained on tour. Playing to capacity crowds and sold out venues throughout the country, and in 1996 secured a position on the bill to play The Big Day Out festival. That same time the band suffered a sudden and tragic loss, with the death of their Manager Gerald Barry Dwyer. And it was late 1996 where they headed back to the studio, this time travelling to Australia and worked on a third album. Double Your Strength, Improve Your Health & Lengthen Your Life. Cornbag, the first single from the album, was released in November 1996, but received only moderate chart success.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Head Like A Hole

Releases

Faster Hooves
Year: ????
Type: EP
Spanish Goat Dancer
Year: ????
Type: Album
Narcocorrido
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Blood Will Out
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Blood On A Honky Tonk Floor
Year: 2000
Type: Album
HLAH IV
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Wet Rubber
Year: 1998
Type: Album
The Not Nicomjool EP
Year: 1995
Type: EP
Flik Y'Self Off Y'Self
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Beelzebeats
Year: 1993
Type: EP
13
Year: 1992
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Photographer

Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones - Album Review: Sand
04 Mar 2017 // by Photographer
Miss Peach and the Travellin’ Bones have released an album called Sand.  This album is beyond stunning.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: The Electric Sun/Streets of Gold
05 Nov 2016 // by Photographer
A release by New Zealand based Apollo SteamTrain, the 'Double A Side' single The Electric Sun/Streets Of Gold is a neat way to feature the strengths of the band. Well recorded, these two songs are pleasantly composed with much thought put in to the tones and soundscape used.
Read More...
Mishap - EP Review: Toaster
05 Nov 2016 // by Photographer
Enthusiastically honest lyrics and a homely, familiar flavour are the initial hits when yourToaster EP pops. Mishap hauls in the spirits of Green Day (Dookie Days) and I’m going to say a smearing of Smash-era Offspring to bring you their musical offering.
Read More...
EP Review: Bonfire Baby
05 Nov 2016 // by Photographer
Running out to the car, late as usual, I checked the letterbox on the way through, finding this wee gem in there. I was off on a road trip with no-one, giving me plenty of time to conceive the following words that will explain my experience with Bonfire Baby.
Read More...
Churlington - Album Review: Wally Wick... Some Kind Of Rodent
05 Nov 2015 // by Photographer
Churlington’s Wally Wick​.​.
Read More...
Ahjay Stelino - Album Review: Music Therapy Songs for Special Kids
09 Jun 2015 // by Photographer
It’s not often my two jobs overlap, by night I am a music photographer and reviewer and by day I am an early intervention teacher, supporting preschool children with disabilities in their early education.  So I was quite excited to be asked to review Ahjay Stelino’s Music Therapy Songs for Special Kids.
Read More...
View All Articles By Photographer

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem