19 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Brooke Fraser - Gig Review: Brooke Fraser @ Wellington Opera House - 26/06/2015

27 Jun 2015 // A review by Tony McDonald

There was certainly something in the water at the Wellington opera house on a cold winters tonight. Could Brooke Fraser warm up the packed crowd? I was five rows from the front, surrounded by a really mixed crowd; young, old, male, female. I don't know what I was expecting, but that wasn't it. As dry ice descended from a black lifeless stage the crowd cheered. On walked the keyboard player Max followed by the heavily pregnant Brooke Fraser. Apart from two blue lasers at the back of the stage there wasn’t anything else except black. For a lively dance artist I expected something more.

Brooke opened with a great voice, however she kept tapping on a keyboard. It looked fake and appeared to not coincide with anything, all for show perhaps?

Brooke had a cup of tea on stage and was obviously very proud of the fact that she was going to give birth in a few weeks. She was also very proud to be back in New Zealand and thanked the audience on several occasions. She even invited the audience up to dance at the front whether the Opera House wanted this or not, a brave move. This vastly improved the stagnant atmosphere.

Personally Brooke needed a backing band and the basic backing track karaoke session just didn’t work. Even the seated audience added to the mundane affair and some backing vocals were pre-recorded. Overall it felt like a bit of a rip off.

Having said all of that she seemed like a wonderful lady, entertaining and funny at times with a great voice. Die-hard fans I'm sure loved it, for everyone else, I'm not so sure.

The very 80s disco demanded the obligatory on the beat clapping that always ends in disaster, thankfully it didn’t happen.

When the acoustic guitar came out half way through the set, at least it sounded real.

Overall, very unimpressed and not what I expected from a successful performer of this calibre.

 

About Brooke Fraser

Years on from the world’s first introduction to Brooke Fraser, she continues to remain one of the top selling artists in New Zealand, with combined career album sales in New Zealand over 225,000 albums, and one of the country’s stellar musical exports with international sales close to half a million albums.

She established herself on the world stage with hit singles Albertine, Shadowfeet and Something In The Water, the latter a huge hit across radio airwaves throughout Europe, America, the UK & Australasia.

Brooke Fraser was still a teenager in New Zealand when her music career first took flight. Her 2003 debut album What To Do With Daylight was an eight-times platinum success story in her native New Zealand that earned Brooke her first pair of New Zealand Music Tui Awards. She toured Australasia with artists like John Mayer and David Bowie.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Brooke Fraser

Releases

A Sides
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Brutal Romantic
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Flags
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Albertine
Year: 2006
Type: Album
What To Do With Daylight
Year: 2003
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/01/2019
22 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
One of Wellington's last great venues was kicking out rock odour once more as the Skinny Hobos took to the stage. It's 10:45pm and the murky undertones of Valhalla were ringing out in the streets before I even entered the venue.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - Single/Video Review: No Revolution
16 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Wearing little more than a red bra the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson is trapped inside a chaotic room. This crazy thought-provoking video tries and succeeds to crawl under your skin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018
16 Nov 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in!
Read More...
Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by Tony McDonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem