10 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Brooke Fraser - Gig Review: Brooke Fraser @ Wellington Opera House - 26/06/2015

27 Jun 2015 // A review by Tony McDonald

There was certainly something in the water at the Wellington opera house on a cold winters tonight. Could Brooke Fraser warm up the packed crowd? I was five rows from the front, surrounded by a really mixed crowd; young, old, male, female. I don't know what I was expecting, but that wasn't it. As dry ice descended from a black lifeless stage the crowd cheered. On walked the keyboard player Max followed by the heavily pregnant Brooke Fraser. Apart from two blue lasers at the back of the stage there wasn’t anything else except black. For a lively dance artist I expected something more.

Brooke opened with a great voice, however she kept tapping on a keyboard. It looked fake and appeared to not coincide with anything, all for show perhaps?

Brooke had a cup of tea on stage and was obviously very proud of the fact that she was going to give birth in a few weeks. She was also very proud to be back in New Zealand and thanked the audience on several occasions. She even invited the audience up to dance at the front whether the Opera House wanted this or not, a brave move. This vastly improved the stagnant atmosphere.

Personally Brooke needed a backing band and the basic backing track karaoke session just didn’t work. Even the seated audience added to the mundane affair and some backing vocals were pre-recorded. Overall it felt like a bit of a rip off.

Having said all of that she seemed like a wonderful lady, entertaining and funny at times with a great voice. Die-hard fans I'm sure loved it, for everyone else, I'm not so sure.

The very 80s disco demanded the obligatory on the beat clapping that always ends in disaster, thankfully it didn’t happen.

When the acoustic guitar came out half way through the set, at least it sounded real.

Overall, very unimpressed and not what I expected from a successful performer of this calibre.

 

About Brooke Fraser

With a career commencing at the age of just 18, Brooke Fraser has clocked up a remarkable number of achievements, including over 16 Platinum Album sales discs and over 245,000 album sales in New Zealand alone and 700,000 worldwide, making her one of New Zealand’s most-loved artists of the past decade.

Her 2003 debut album What To Do With Daylight was an eight-times platinum success story in her native New Zealand that earned Brooke her first pair of New Zealand Music Tui Awards and saw her share the stage with artists like David Bowie, opening on his New Zealand tour in 2004.

The title track to her 2006 follow-up album Albertine celebrated her passion for Africa while the songs spread further across the airwaves. Radio stations in Australia and America were in the thrall of Shadowfeet. An Editors Choice at iTunes in the US helped Albertine climb as high as #5 on the charts and the album clocked up five times platinum sales in New Zealand, matching her debut effort’s gold sales in Australia. With the album title track winning New Zealand’s prestigious songwriting award, the APRA Silver Scroll and a further three Tui’s at the NZ Music Awards.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Brooke Fraser

Releases

B Sides
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
A Sides
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Brutal Romantic
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Flags
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Albertine
Year: 2006
Type: Album
What To Do With Daylight
Year: 2003
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live
14 Jul 2019 // by Tony McDonald
This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem