5 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Janine and the Mixtape - EP Review: XX

22 Jun 2015 // A review by Dilemma

2013 was a big year, Lorde released her first EP but she wasn’t our only Singer/Songwriter that got international acclaim that year, there was also Janine Foster otherwise known as Janine and The Mixtape. Described as an electrifying performer that has developed her own unique combination of pop, indie, R&B, and hip hop. Her latest EP titled XX follows her debut Dark Mind EP from 2013. For those of you who don’t know Janine and the Mixtape, she has had songs featured on Love & Hip Hop Atlanta and XX EP got to #2 on the R&B charts on iTunes and I think she has that late 90's Aaliyah vibe about her. XX reached #5 on the Official NZ Music Charts where it still remains a favourite, she is also one of my favourite NZ musicians. 

XX includes half a dozen new tracks, including When I'm Broken and a brilliant cover of DMX's Lose My Mind, both of which initially premiered as part of Janine's on-going 'Little Mixtape Mondays' on her website. Lose My Mind along with This Moment are two of the stand out jams on this EP. My favourite though is the remix of Hold Me (Feat. Pusha T) which paints the perfect picture of the love, not to mention the stunning music video that can be viewed on Youtube. Keeping with the forlorn theme, forever only lasts when it’s convenient which is the message Janine & The Mixtape delivers to a no-good lover in When I’m Broken. Lyrics like “You like me more when I am broken/ Is that why you just try to hurt me?,” she sings. “Forever’s for me when I’m weak.” She proves that what doesn’t kill you only makes for a sick hit song.

XX has fast received rave reviews from a range of high profile outlets, including Pigeons & Planes, which hailed the EP for "sensual production" and "lustful vocals that seemingly spoon-feed the listener (Janine's) emotive messages." "Brand new and quite pretty," noted The Fader, while Hypetrak declared the set to be "one impressive return to form," which she is, on form that is!

 

About Janine and the Mixtape

Janine and The Mixtape answers the call to many who have been yearning for more of her refreshing twist on new wave R&B. Since debuting ‘Hold Me’ and ‘Dark Mind’ singles, the critical reception for Janine has been rave reviews and thumbs up across the board publications such as Billboard, Complex and VIBE.

Janine started the inception of the Dark Mind EP in New Zealand before trekking across the Southern Hemisphere to Brooklyn, NY where she finished the project and decided to stay and pursue her dreams of furthering her music career.

A self-sufficient artist creating viral visuals and designing her own artwork covers, Little Bit is the new single from Janine and the Mixtape, and features on the Dark Mind EP, set for release in New Zealand on July 26, 2013.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Janine and the Mixtape

Releases

XX
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Dark Mind
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Dilemma

Tali - Album Review: Wolves
28 May 2015 // by Dilemma
Tali AKA Natalia Sheppard is pretty impressive, she paired up with Roni Size to release Lyric on my Lip which smashed the charts in 2002, became the first female MC to release an album in 2004 over 10 years ago. She has won the Best Female DNB MC award a few times (3) and has just released her new album Wolves, which she describes as “electronic soul and gangsta jazz"!
Read More...
Silos feat. Nel A - Justice EP Review
06 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Silos feat. Nel Amore have released their debut EP Justice, 5 tracks with thumping base lines, some repetitive hooks and a brit-chick that raps and sings.
Read More...
Emily Edrosa EP Review
05 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Emily Edrosa is Emily Littler, member of Street Chant – an Auckland trio that has played since 2007 and won the inaugural Critics Choice at the 2010 NZ Music Awards. Emily however, has been putting out some new solo stuff as Emily Edrosa, which is the second effort after Body/Christ released in 2013.
Read More...
PNC - The Codes Album Review
24 Jul 2014 // by Dilemma
PNC AKA Sam Hansen released his fifth album less than a month ago and it’s already smashing sales and tearing up the NZ charts. The album titled The Codes is our newest urban success and it seems that PNC has found his stride with his latest offering.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - Save My Soul EP Review
16 May 2014 // by Dilemma
New from Jayson Norris is the Save My Soul EP as part of NZ Music Month. If you are a fan of Kora style rock or Tiki Taane melodies then you will love this five-song EP, cleverly incorporating roots and the groove of mainstream guitar rock’n’soul to blur genres.
Read More...
Estère - Estere Album Review
10 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Released as a free download via Bandcamp the debut EP from Wellington singer/songwriter/beatmaker/producer Estere is definitely unique in the NZ music scene. Self-described as “just a girl with an MPC” Estere works her equipment and the product is individualistic, raw and worthy of a listen this NZ Music Month.
Read More...
Ill Semantics - You Got It Feat. Scribe and K.One Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
The Ill Semantic’s are back for 2014 and while it's been over 20 years since they formed they still have the ability to make really good, current hip hop music. Ill Semantics are getting ready to drop their third album and have delivered the first single titled You Got It feat.
Read More...
J Williams - Broken Love Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Part of New Zealand Music Month is showcasing NZ music and J. Williams is back with another R&B power ballad, Broken Love is the name of his latest release which was co-written with sister Lavina and then mixed and mastered by NOX and Patriarch for their Illegal Muzik label.
Read More...
View All Articles By Dilemma

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem