24 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: Radioglo - In Between Time

27 May 2015 // A review by Carl Hayman

Back when I was a young muso play drums in the Jazz combo and Big Band at Glenfield College, there was always a few of the older lads that I always looked up to. I followed them a bit when we left school, a few of them went onto form a band called Rubicon, who’s name got around very quickly due to the simple fact that the lead singer had a starring role on NZ’s own Shortland Street. If you push that fact aside, the songs were actually really pop rock orientated, had a lot of influences from bands like Nirvana, and sounded great. Over 10 years on, and I see that their guitarist has emerged from the woodwork into a band under the AAA records label called Radioglo.

I wasn’t sure what to expect – I know Gene Bennett has an amazing ability to build and repair guitars, and I know a few people who only trust him to work on their instruments, so I was really looking forward to giving this record a spin.

The first few notes lead me back to fifth form where I remember a band called Eye TV playing at Browns Bay in the back of a semi-truck on the beach. The sound reminds me so much of this, yet distinctly quite different. The drumming is nice and tight, but also simple and effective. Radioglo liken themselves to Tom Petty and Neil Young – which I would say 100% true. I hear influences on all of their tracks of each of both these artists, but I also hear some pop influences of later years. I also however hear a few of the late 80’s and early 90’s grunge band riffs sneaking into context below such as Mudhoney and Tripping Daisy.

The new album is a good length – they have kept a true 13 tracks which is awesome given that so many bands are releasing shorter and shorter albums even right down to 7 or 8 tracks these days. Tracks on the album are quite different in sound which is refreshing. You do actually feel like you’ve got the whole deal from the band not just a 60 minute track divided into 3 minute portions with differing names.

My favourite composition on the album is Track number 8,Failsafe. I can’t really explain the reasons for it, I just feel that all the instruments sit so nicely into the mix – guitar and bass grooving well together, the drumline sits underneath flawlessly, and the vocal effect over the top reminds me of Tyson Kennedy from Steriogram but in a sung version, not the rapping version.

There is some really nice work on this album, it’s almost something you would expect in a hi-fi state – it would have been awesome to have heard it on record. I definitely recommend giving this one a spin if you are keen on your modern rock ’n roll tones, but hints of a pop sound from the yesteryear sneaking through. Very easy listening without being easy listening.

Good work Radioglo.

 

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem