22 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: First Light by Ten Thousand (AUS)

19 May 2015 // A review by Peter-James Dries

You may have seen in our music news last month the announcement that Aussie band Ten Thousand are releasing their new album First Light. While the press release, which described the album as “infusing elements of pychedelia, industrial electronica and undeniable arena rock” advertised the album enough to grab anyone’s attention, I decided to take a closer look and put my own two cents in.

While Ten Thousand, may not be New Zealand music in the strictest sense, which is our specialty here at Muzic.net.nz, this isn’t the first time we’ve let an international band slip into out reviews on a technicality. And if the band drums up enough support, there is the possibility the band will wash up on our shores one day, which judging by their new record, will be an amazing show. As the press release said, this is undeniable arena rock. Big, loud, ambitious, good.

First Light is a fusion between the Alternative Prog-Rock styling of early Muse releases mixed with the drive of neo-Hard Rock acts like Candlebox and just a hint of driving Blues. I could pick dozen more internationally renowned artists out of my word hole, all of your favourites, if it would convince you to listen to this band, because there are elements of the best bits of most of them in this album. The band wears their influences on their sleeves, but unlike a lot of bands that exist in tribute to their favourite acts, Ten Thousand have done a good job of making their sound their own. 

As an entirely self-produced album the band has obviously had the time, without pressures of deadlines signed bands face, to refine the tracks. The extra layers, as subtle as they can be, beef up the track and take it from a garage rock band to a higher level.  To keep up that level of aural detail for thirteen tracks takes artist integrity and some degree of OCD.

With five members, unrestrained by cost, time or management, I’m glad to see there is no evidence of Too Many Cooks syndrome. There are no jarring genre and style shifts behind tracks, as if the drummer, bass player and guitarist took turns writing. It’s a testimony to how well the band members mesh to make one whole, unique, sound that is a sum of all their parts.

First Light is out May 15th from iTunes and Spotify or you can stream the album from Soundcloud or the Ten Thousand Website.

As a side note, here are some pretty decent shots of behind the scenes during the recording of the album.

 

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem