30 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kitsch - Gig Review: Kitsch @ Kings Arms 28/11/2014

21 Jan 2015 // A review by Carl Hayman

A few of you may have read my review a couple of months back for the release of Kitsch's brand new album Plastic Lives. Now it's my chance to give you look through my eyes as to Kitsch's Live show.

Taking to the stage with guests Craig Radford (Sticky Filth) and The MurderChord, this was a show I had been looking forward to for quite some time. Unfortunately I missed the last Kitsch show due to work travel, but to be honest I can't remember the last time I had seen them play in the skin.

When Kitsch took the stage, the atmosphere was absolutely electric. Sam Icke engages with the crowd in a dominating but respectful persona, really letting the music do the talking.

Nowadays when I attend a gig, I really tend to focus on the music rather than the atmosphere, because there will always be people talking crap, and people who are plastered and people who just don't know correct gig etiquette, but this gig was really positively buzzing with long time followers of Kitsch, and also a bunch of new faces that have heard the legends but never seen them in the flesh.

After hearing the album back to back literally hundreds of times already (it's my new favourite), their onstage show was nothing to be sneezed at - in fact, I believe the live delivery of their music was probably even better than the recordings (and the recordings are amongst the best I've heard). 

With a few of the older tunes thrown in for good measure, the set mainly focussed on the launch of the new album, and to be fair, there is nothing in their show that I could pick holes in. The support acts also impressed with heaps of attitude and awesome music, particularly The MurderChord who for a duo fill out their sound a lot more than you would think. Their bio describes them as 'The Actual Shit' which I have a tendency to agree with.

If I was to give this gig a score out of ten, It would be an honest 11-1/2 .. Kitsch have never let my expectations down, and this gig was certainly not going to be the one to do so. Kick Ass.

 

About Kitsch

Smashing out pop rock sensibility with a punk rock attitude.

Retaining its core members for over two decades, Kitsch delivered the next phase in their evolution in 2014, an album of epic depths, prepare yourself for Plastic Lives.

Tapping into modern states of mind, internet anonymity and global

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kitsch

Releases

Plastic Lives
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Burning Ground
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Love Songs For Romantic Punks
Year: 2002
Type: Album
The Billy Joel EP
Year: 2000
Type: EP
The Way It Was
Year: 1998
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem