27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kitsch - Gig Review: Kitsch @ Kings Arms 28/11/2014

21 Jan 2015 // A review by Carl Hayman

A few of you may have read my review a couple of months back for the release of Kitsch's brand new album Plastic Lives. Now it's my chance to give you look through my eyes as to Kitsch's Live show.

Taking to the stage with guests Craig Radford (Sticky Filth) and The MurderChord, this was a show I had been looking forward to for quite some time. Unfortunately I missed the last Kitsch show due to work travel, but to be honest I can't remember the last time I had seen them play in the skin.

When Kitsch took the stage, the atmosphere was absolutely electric. Sam Icke engages with the crowd in a dominating but respectful persona, really letting the music do the talking.

Nowadays when I attend a gig, I really tend to focus on the music rather than the atmosphere, because there will always be people talking crap, and people who are plastered and people who just don't know correct gig etiquette, but this gig was really positively buzzing with long time followers of Kitsch, and also a bunch of new faces that have heard the legends but never seen them in the flesh.

After hearing the album back to back literally hundreds of times already (it's my new favourite), their onstage show was nothing to be sneezed at - in fact, I believe the live delivery of their music was probably even better than the recordings (and the recordings are amongst the best I've heard). 

With a few of the older tunes thrown in for good measure, the set mainly focussed on the launch of the new album, and to be fair, there is nothing in their show that I could pick holes in. The support acts also impressed with heaps of attitude and awesome music, particularly The MurderChord who for a duo fill out their sound a lot more than you would think. Their bio describes them as 'The Actual Shit' which I have a tendency to agree with.

If I was to give this gig a score out of ten, It would be an honest 11-1/2 .. Kitsch have never let my expectations down, and this gig was certainly not going to be the one to do so. Kick Ass.

 

About Kitsch

Smashing out pop rock sensibility with a punk rock attitude.

Retaining its core members for over two decades, Kitsch delivered the next phase in their evolution in 2014, an album of epic depths, prepare yourself for Plastic Lives.

Tapping into modern states of mind, internet anonymity and global

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kitsch

Releases

Plastic Lives
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Burning Ground
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Love Songs For Romantic Punks
Year: 2002
Type: Album
The Billy Joel EP
Year: 2000
Type: EP
The Way It Was
Year: 1998
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Album Review: Pieces Of Molly
09 Nov 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Have you ever heard a tune for the very first time, and within 10 seconds been like "holy crap this is insane, where did this come from???" Very few bands that I listen to ever give me that massive burst in energy like i got when opening the very first track Atomic Fuzz on Pieces Of Molly’s brand new self-titled album.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem