30 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jason McIver Collective - EP Review: The Big Blue

18 Dec 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

It's been ages since I last reviewed an acoustic EP - and to be fair, usually I cringe when someone asks me to have a listen, as the recording quality is sub-standard, and the production value is less than average.

The Big Blue from The Jason McIver Collective is far from this to tell you the truth. In fact, I enjoyed this EP so much that I flicked Jason an email straight after listening, offering to lay down some drum tracks for him if he ever needed them.

The Big Blue is a 6 track EP - a decent length, most bands or solo artists now opting to usually only drop 4 tracks on an EP so it makes for really good listening. I wouldn't consider The Jason McIver Collective sound to be hard rock, but I definitely wouldn't lump it in with the pop category either really. It's almost like an acoustic hard rock (if you can imagine) but it grooves really nicely.

You can hear some really subtle conga's or bongo's in the background to add to the groove of what definitely sounds like a steel string guitar rather than nylon strings - but it's played with perfection, no string twang or loose notes to deal with.

It does somewhat remind me of 3 Doors Down, maybe some hints of the Incubus Acoustic Sessions if you've ever heard them, or a favourite of mine from back in the day Days Of The New.

Look To The Stars is probably my favourite track off the EP with nice chord progressions, and a very cool deep harmony vocal tracking nicely with the melody line. Naked Blues is not particularly a 'Blues' song that the title suggests, but it has well structured choruses and flows at an awesome tempo. Definitely feet tapping material, with uplifting lyrics and classic rock progressions that work beautifully for this tune.

The collaboration for this EP consists of Jason McIver, Matt Hill, Si Foikard, John Boone, Will Bloodfarm, Zorran Mendonsa, and Matt Gutteridge all playing in various tracks throughout the EP, but with the main credit going to Jason McIver for his personal work. You may also recognise his sound from his days as frontman for Heathen Eyes.

All in all, a fantastic EP - one that I really enjoy. I really like Jason's acoustic work, although I can't help but to feel that he really should still be fronting a rock band with distorted guitars and heavy drums. His voice has amazing tone, and he is pitch perfect. I believe that he really is an undiscovered Jason Kerrison in the making. Check it out as soon as you get the opportunity!

 

About Jason McIver Collective

The Jason McIver Collective have released two highly praised and charting albums since 2015 and in 2019 that catalogue will continue to expand.

After moving bases from Auckland to Taupo Jason refreshed the line-up, featuring original bassist Si Folkard moving to lead guitar/vocals, bassist John Curtis and drummer Andrew Marshall.

The music explores the many emotions and movements occurring in life and celebrates a diverse scope of song writing.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jason McIver Collective

Releases

I May No Perf
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Big Blue
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem