5 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kitsch - Album Review: Plastic Lives

05 Dec 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

About 4 months ago, I was listening through my playlist on my phone and I threw on what has previously been my favourite release ever from a Kiwi band The Burning Ground from veteran Kiwi punk rockers Kitsch. This got me thinking about whatever happened to Kitsch? I mean no one has heard anything of them for like 5 years right? 

I got onto Facebook and searched for Kitsch. I found a Facebook page with barely any pictures and a few meagre photos of the band. It was like the once glorious Kitsch had whittled away to nothingness. I clicked the message button and sent through a message ‘hey are you guys still around? If so, are you still playing shows?’ within 3 minutes, I got a message back which got my blood pumping. ‘Yeah bro, keep your eyes peeled, we have something coming out REAL soon’.

This excited me perhaps more than it should – I was checking back on their page daily anticipating some kind of news, and then BOOM! A gig is announced, followed by the release of a single, followed by a brand new album Plastic Lives.

Kitsch have given this new release a quick but justified blurb – “Smashing out pop rock sensibility with a punk rock attitude.”

I had the perfect opportunity to listen to the entire album from start to finish as I was about to hit the road from Auckland to Tauranga on a gig of my own, and what better way to motivate myself than by listening to a brand spanking new album from my favourite band with simplistically effective artwork released under the Elevenfiftyseven records label.

Reading through Kitsch’s background – they have 5 previous releases before Plastic Lives starting in 1998. That is 16 years of impressive pop-punk that has not aged one little bit.

And GO! I hit the play button. What came through the speakers was the unmistakable sound of Sam Icke’s voice which cannot be compared to any other vocalist in the world. Raw, powerful, and perfectly matched to the elite sound of a band that is now unrivalled in their perfect placement of being NZ’s number #1 punk band.

The sound is a much matured Kitsch. Their song writing has matured, their style has matured slightly, but all in a good way. I feel the overall tempo of the album is a little slower than their previous releases, but by all means this is not a negative thing. This is by far the best release Kitsch have put out, and I feel that if they have more up their sleeves, they will continue to break new ground with everything they put out.

The drums are as tight as a tight thing, the guitarist delicately woven into the tune in a timebomb fashion where they are ready to go off at any given moment, and the bass is exactly what it needs to be. Driving, perfectly timed, and it matches the drums like clockwork.

Honestly this review is totally pointless in trying to get you guys to hear what I hear until you click the play button, but once you do, you will understand EXACTLY what I mean. This album is beautifully sick. A honed masterpiece.

 

About Kitsch

Smashing out pop rock sensibility with a punk rock attitude.

Retaining its core members for over two decades, Kitsch delivered the next phase in their evolution in 2014, an album of epic depths, prepare yourself for Plastic Lives.

Tapping into modern states of mind, internet anonymity and global

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kitsch

Releases

Plastic Lives
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Burning Ground
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Love Songs For Romantic Punks
Year: 2002
Type: Album
The Billy Joel EP
Year: 2000
Type: EP
The Way It Was
Year: 1998
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem