24 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kitsch - Album Review: Plastic Lives

05 Dec 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

About 4 months ago, I was listening through my playlist on my phone and I threw on what has previously been my favourite release ever from a Kiwi band The Burning Ground from veteran Kiwi punk rockers Kitsch. This got me thinking about whatever happened to Kitsch? I mean no one has heard anything of them for like 5 years right? 

I got onto Facebook and searched for Kitsch. I found a Facebook page with barely any pictures and a few meagre photos of the band. It was like the once glorious Kitsch had whittled away to nothingness. I clicked the message button and sent through a message ‘hey are you guys still around? If so, are you still playing shows?’ within 3 minutes, I got a message back which got my blood pumping. ‘Yeah bro, keep your eyes peeled, we have something coming out REAL soon’.

This excited me perhaps more than it should – I was checking back on their page daily anticipating some kind of news, and then BOOM! A gig is announced, followed by the release of a single, followed by a brand new album Plastic Lives.

Kitsch have given this new release a quick but justified blurb – “Smashing out pop rock sensibility with a punk rock attitude.”

I had the perfect opportunity to listen to the entire album from start to finish as I was about to hit the road from Auckland to Tauranga on a gig of my own, and what better way to motivate myself than by listening to a brand spanking new album from my favourite band with simplistically effective artwork released under the Elevenfiftyseven records label.

Reading through Kitsch’s background – they have 5 previous releases before Plastic Lives starting in 1998. That is 16 years of impressive pop-punk that has not aged one little bit.

And GO! I hit the play button. What came through the speakers was the unmistakable sound of Sam Icke’s voice which cannot be compared to any other vocalist in the world. Raw, powerful, and perfectly matched to the elite sound of a band that is now unrivalled in their perfect placement of being NZ’s number #1 punk band.

The sound is a much matured Kitsch. Their song writing has matured, their style has matured slightly, but all in a good way. I feel the overall tempo of the album is a little slower than their previous releases, but by all means this is not a negative thing. This is by far the best release Kitsch have put out, and I feel that if they have more up their sleeves, they will continue to break new ground with everything they put out.

The drums are as tight as a tight thing, the guitarist delicately woven into the tune in a timebomb fashion where they are ready to go off at any given moment, and the bass is exactly what it needs to be. Driving, perfectly timed, and it matches the drums like clockwork.

Honestly this review is totally pointless in trying to get you guys to hear what I hear until you click the play button, but once you do, you will understand EXACTLY what I mean. This album is beautifully sick. A honed masterpiece.

 

About Kitsch

Smashing out pop rock sensibility with a punk rock attitude.

Retaining its core members for over two decades, Kitsch delivered the next phase in their evolution in 2014, an album of epic depths, prepare yourself for Plastic Lives.

Tapping into modern states of mind, internet anonymity and global

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kitsch

Releases

Plastic Lives
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Burning Ground
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Love Songs For Romantic Punks
Year: 2002
Type: Album
The Billy Joel EP
Year: 2000
Type: EP
The Way It Was
Year: 1998
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa
11 Sep 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa. Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining
27 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining. I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem