27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kitsch - Album Review: Plastic Lives

05 Dec 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

About 4 months ago, I was listening through my playlist on my phone and I threw on what has previously been my favourite release ever from a Kiwi band The Burning Ground from veteran Kiwi punk rockers Kitsch. This got me thinking about whatever happened to Kitsch? I mean no one has heard anything of them for like 5 years right? 

I got onto Facebook and searched for Kitsch. I found a Facebook page with barely any pictures and a few meagre photos of the band. It was like the once glorious Kitsch had whittled away to nothingness. I clicked the message button and sent through a message ‘hey are you guys still around? If so, are you still playing shows?’ within 3 minutes, I got a message back which got my blood pumping. ‘Yeah bro, keep your eyes peeled, we have something coming out REAL soon’.

This excited me perhaps more than it should – I was checking back on their page daily anticipating some kind of news, and then BOOM! A gig is announced, followed by the release of a single, followed by a brand new album Plastic Lives.

Kitsch have given this new release a quick but justified blurb – “Smashing out pop rock sensibility with a punk rock attitude.”

I had the perfect opportunity to listen to the entire album from start to finish as I was about to hit the road from Auckland to Tauranga on a gig of my own, and what better way to motivate myself than by listening to a brand spanking new album from my favourite band with simplistically effective artwork released under the Elevenfiftyseven records label.

Reading through Kitsch’s background – they have 5 previous releases before Plastic Lives starting in 1998. That is 16 years of impressive pop-punk that has not aged one little bit.

And GO! I hit the play button. What came through the speakers was the unmistakable sound of Sam Icke’s voice which cannot be compared to any other vocalist in the world. Raw, powerful, and perfectly matched to the elite sound of a band that is now unrivalled in their perfect placement of being NZ’s number #1 punk band.

The sound is a much matured Kitsch. Their song writing has matured, their style has matured slightly, but all in a good way. I feel the overall tempo of the album is a little slower than their previous releases, but by all means this is not a negative thing. This is by far the best release Kitsch have put out, and I feel that if they have more up their sleeves, they will continue to break new ground with everything they put out.

The drums are as tight as a tight thing, the guitarist delicately woven into the tune in a timebomb fashion where they are ready to go off at any given moment, and the bass is exactly what it needs to be. Driving, perfectly timed, and it matches the drums like clockwork.

Honestly this review is totally pointless in trying to get you guys to hear what I hear until you click the play button, but once you do, you will understand EXACTLY what I mean. This album is beautifully sick. A honed masterpiece.

 

About Kitsch

Smashing out pop rock sensibility with a punk rock attitude.

Retaining its core members for over two decades, Kitsch delivered the next phase in their evolution in 2014, an album of epic depths, prepare yourself for Plastic Lives.

Tapping into modern states of mind, internet anonymity and global

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kitsch

Releases

Plastic Lives
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Burning Ground
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Love Songs For Romantic Punks
Year: 2002
Type: Album
The Billy Joel EP
Year: 2000
Type: EP
The Way It Was
Year: 1998
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Album Review: Pieces Of Molly
09 Nov 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Have you ever heard a tune for the very first time, and within 10 seconds been like "holy crap this is insane, where did this come from???" Very few bands that I listen to ever give me that massive burst in energy like i got when opening the very first track Atomic Fuzz on Pieces Of Molly’s brand new self-titled album.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem