5 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Holy Serpent - EP Review: Holy Serpent self-titled EP

05 Dec 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

Holy Serpent dub themselves a Heavy Psych Rock Band based out of Melbourne, Australia and features members from New Zealand.

I recently jumped over to their bandcamp page https://holyserpentband.bandcamp.com/ for a quick listen to their self titled EP launched 10th November 2014.

The EP has been produced and engineered by Timon Martin who plays guitar for the infamous breakthrough female popstar Kimbra.

After reading through their page, I stumbled across the tags: metaldoomdoom-metalsludgestonerstoner-metal and Melbourne and thought to myself ‘this has GOT to be good’.

Due to a terrible firewall on my work computer I really struggled to gain access to the tracks, and was just about to throw in the towel, but finally managed to get something to work via dropbox, and voila, some sound started to pump through.

I listened for about 20 seconds, and then I had to recheck my browser – what I was hearing was tightly played, well produced, and smoothly engineered. I kept having to check back as I kept seeing images pop into my mind of Alice In Chains in their earlier years, followed by glimpses of Royal Blood who recently broke out of the UK with massive impact.

Their tracks are long – way too long to be commercial, but I get the feeling that being commercial is the last thing on Holy Serpent's agenda. Their tracks are well constructed, very progressive, and easy to listen to – but so full of attitude. Everything is tightly played, the instrument lines are well crafted, and the vocals just seem to layer over the whole lot with attack but a super dark vibe.

I particularly enjoyed listening to the drum tracks as they are crafted in such a way that you know the drummer has control, but isn’t really showing off everything that he is capable of. Perhaps it makes you want to hear them unleash and go for it, but it never really quite happens in a way that makes you feel they are overplaying.

All in all, a really good EP – much better than most bands first release. I am impressed with the quality of work. Definitely worth a listen for anyone who’s tastes lean towards the heavier end of the musical market.

 

About Holy Serpent

Holy Serpent is a Heavy Psych rock band from Melbourne, Australia.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Holy Serpent

Releases

Endless
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Temples
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Holy Serpent
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem