18 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

An Electric Heart - An Electric Heart Album Review

16 Oct 2014 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Once an aspiring Punk band, Napier’s An Electric Heart was born from the scarcity of drummers, though I see little evidence of any Punk origins, save for the power chords of a digitized guitar and the Punk vocal aesthetic that sporadically make an appearance throughout their eponymous debut full length.

The music is generally electronic and especially poppy, kind of Pet Shop Boys and The Cure, that eighties vibe. Ballads and Electro Beats.

The exception being the concluding track, the titular An Electric Heart; an acoustic ballad that, though incongruous to the preceding tracks, is the soothing calm you need after this digital storm of an album.

The Resistance was the standout track for me. The track opens like so many tracks I loved from my Trance Techno, reach-for-the-lasers heyday before devolving into a Late Eighties, Nine Inch Nails Head Like A Hole.

You can find the An Electric Heart LP as well as their back catalogue of EPs for download, purchase or stream on the An Electric Heart Bandcamp (http://anelectricheart.bandcamp.com/) or their official website (http://anelectricheart.com/).

An Electric Heart
View Track Listing
 

About An Electric Heart

An Electric Heart is the pseudonym of Napier based Musician/Music producer Luke Pell. An Electric Heart’s sound is described as a mix of electronic & punk elements, or ‘Alternative pop’.

An Electric Heart’s second full length album titled Pink & Blue was released in 2016. The album’s release was accompanied by a release show and a promotional video for the song Thunderhead.

Luke Pell released the first An Electric Heart record titled; An Electric Heart (Free Promo EP) as a solo project late in 2011, Luke then added more members and expanded the project into a fully-fledged band. Over the last four years An Electric Heart has been through multiple line-up changes and has now returned to being Pell’s solo project.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for An Electric Heart

Releases

Pink & Blue
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Drive
Year: 2016
Type: EP
An Electric Heart
Year: 2014
Type: Album
NZ Music
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Part 4 Of 4
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Come On Down
Year: 2012
Type: EP
V.R
Year: 2012
Type: EP
An Electric Heart (Promo)
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem