2 Jun 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

An Electric Heart - An Electric Heart Album Review

16 Oct 2014 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Once an aspiring Punk band, Napier’s An Electric Heart was born from the scarcity of drummers, though I see little evidence of any Punk origins, save for the power chords of a digitized guitar and the Punk vocal aesthetic that sporadically make an appearance throughout their eponymous debut full length.

The music is generally electronic and especially poppy, kind of Pet Shop Boys and The Cure, that eighties vibe. Ballads and Electro Beats.

The exception being the concluding track, the titular An Electric Heart; an acoustic ballad that, though incongruous to the preceding tracks, is the soothing calm you need after this digital storm of an album.

The Resistance was the standout track for me. The track opens like so many tracks I loved from my Trance Techno, reach-for-the-lasers heyday before devolving into a Late Eighties, Nine Inch Nails Head Like A Hole.

You can find the An Electric Heart LP as well as their back catalogue of EPs for download, purchase or stream on the An Electric Heart Bandcamp (http://anelectricheart.bandcamp.com/) or their official website (http://anelectricheart.com/).

An Electric Heart
View Track Listing
 

About An Electric Heart

An Electric Heart is the pseudonym of Napier based Musician/Music producer Luke Pell. An Electric Heart’s sound is described as a mix of electronic & punk elements, or ‘Alternative pop’.

An Electric Heart’s second full length album titled Pink & Blue was released in 2016. The album’s release was accompanied by a release show and a promotional video for the song Thunderhead.

Luke Pell released the first An Electric Heart record titled; An Electric Heart (Free Promo EP) as a solo project late in 2011, Luke then added more members and expanded the project into a fully-fledged band. Over the last four years An Electric Heart has been through multiple line-up changes and has now returned to being Pell’s solo project.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for An Electric Heart

Releases

Pink & Blue
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Drive
Year: 2016
Type: EP
An Electric Heart
Year: 2014
Type: Album
NZ Music
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Part 4 Of 4
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Come On Down
Year: 2012
Type: EP
V.R
Year: 2012
Type: EP
An Electric Heart (Promo)
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
dharmarat - Album Review: WLKNZ
24 Dec 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This review took a long time. This isn’t my usual genre.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • RAIN ON ME
    Lady Gaga And Ariana Grande
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem