11 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tali - Faster Than Sound Single Review

03 Oct 2014 // A review by Joel C Blood
The second tune from Tali's forthcoming record Wolves is a huge departure from the UK drum n bass that made her a worldwide name. Faster Than Sound is a self declared love song and is closer to trip hop than Tali's traditional "Boobs to the Wall" DnB; which is a great departure in my eyes. There is nothing worse than seeing an artist mature yet they cling to a sound that has grown stagnant and become dated. Big ups to Tali for breaking new ground and trying something fresh.

Tali takes all the credit for this track. She wrote, produced and recorded the track herself, and on the whole she hasn't done a bad job. My only real criticism of the production is the vocals sound too tuned in sections for a voice that doesn't require it. I also think the song could have benefited from having a really good engineer on board, but these are only small areas for improvement and don't distract from a great track. Mastering Care of KOG.

Tali has a nice little spit mid song, quickly reminding us why she is still considered one of the world's best female MC's, period.

Faster Than Sound is cinematic, sincere and brings a new optimism to what Tali can offer electronic music. A great evolution in sound and musical vision. You go girl!
 

About Tali

One of the most prolific MC's to come out of Drum and Bass in the last ten years, Tali's ability to freestyle and sing soulful, positive and intelligent vocals over the mix, has seen her stay top of her game. She has won numerous awards, released two new albums in the last 12 months ("Dark Days, High Nights" - Audioporn Records) and toured the world extensively as both an MC and live act.

Originally from a Dairy Farm in Taranaki, Tali moved to the UK ten years to follow her dreams of becoming a top international MC.

After signing to the legendary Full Cycle Label owned and run by Roni Size, Tali went onto to release the first ever MC album 'Lyric on my Lip' with a UK top 40 single and worldwide tour and selling over 15,000 albums.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tali

Releases

Do It For Yourself
Year: ????
Type: Album
Love & Migration
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Keta
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Wolves
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Of Things To Come...
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Lyric On My Lip
Year: 2004
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Joel C Blood

Macombee and the Absolute Truth - No Man's Land Album Review
29 Nov 2014 // by Joel C Blood
When I received this record I had no idea what to expect. The press information describes the sound as a cathartic experience founded on cinematic arrangements wrapped around the lead singer, Sarah Macombee's, exquisite voice, so it all sounded fairly self indulgent.
Read More...
SSXUB EP Review - Shapeshifter vs The Upbeats
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
This 5 track EP has been probably my most highly anticipated NZ release this year and it doesn't disappoint. This is everything that you would expect from this collaboration, the soulful wailing of P-Digsss and melodic lusciousness of Shapeshifter mashed together with the unforgiving, beat driven groove of The Upbeats.
Read More...
Moana And The Tribe - Rima Album Review
02 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
According to the albums publicists, this is Moana and the Tribe's 5th Studio album, and it wasn't what I was expecting. This was primarily a good thing as I like surprises but it did catch me a little off guard.
Read More...
Oakley Grenell - The Deep Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Listening to this record for the first time was a breath of fresh air. With so many Kiwi hip hop artists and beat makers writing the same old wannabe American Gangster drivel, it was inspiring to hear a guy construct something uplifting, tasteful and sonically dynamic.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Love Can Prevail Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Electric Wire Hustle do it again with another outstanding record. The dynamic duo strikes back with a fusion of classic soul mixed with slick glitching, well textured futuristic beats.
Read More...
Whistlejacket - The Year of the Horse EP Review
11 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I was impressed with the work that Whistlejacket management have gone to in producing a very stylistic press package. It's not often I get any info on the reviewed band but these guys had a full press kit which used strong alternate imaginary to represent the band.
Read More...
Phil Rudd - Head Job Album Review
05 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
There are two ways to write this review. One way is looking at the record from Phil's vast and impressive career as the worlds most acclaimed 4/4 drummer, while being wowed by his self indulgent lifestyle.
Read More...
Kerretta - Pirohia Album Review
04 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I am going to do away with the Isis and Mogwai comparisons. Let's focus on how fucking good this record is.
Read More...
View All Articles By Joel C Blood

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem