25 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Datsuns - Bad Taste Single Review

25 Sep 2014 // A review by Kerry Monaghan

The first single to be lifted from Kiwi favourites, The Datsuns' sixth album, Deep Sleep, is sure to please. With a hilarious and really well done Claymation video (with the band all looking like they have dreadlocks) the single, Bad Taste is a foot stomper of a tune with classic Dolf De Borst trademark throaty vocals and booming riffs. Influences from Black Sabbath and Deep Purple are dotted throughout.

Stay tuned and watch for this album to drop early October, you won’t want to miss out!

 

About The Datsuns

A record that sprang from an experiment in Space and Time: The geographical Space between the four band members who all live in different parts of the world, and the short pocket of Time they had together in the same country to put something to tape.

‘The narrative of Deep Sleep is this: we got together, we wrote some songs and we recorded them in the space of ten days,’ says de Borst, ‘It was basically an experiment to see if we could do it and this is what we got, for better or worse. We had this manifesto of ‘we have to do this fast, it needs to fit within these sonic parameters, and we want to keep it simple.’’

Their almost nuclear family-like existence changed around five years ago when the four members settled in separate cities. Singer/bassist Dolf de Borst put down roots in Stockholm, Sweden, building a recording studio with Nicke Andersson (The Hellacopters, Imperial State Electric); guitarist Christian Livingstone returned to London, embracing the ways of a mad fuzz scientist and birthing his own FX pedal company, Magnetic Effects; guitarist Phil Somervell returned from Germany to Auckland, New Zealand, continuing his work as a squash coach and dabbling with other musical projects; and drummer Ben Cole, based himself permanently out of Wellington working as a session musician and playing with The Joint Chiefs and the Craig Terris Band.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Datsuns

Releases

Eye To Eye
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Deep Sleep
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Death Rattle Boogie
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Headstunts
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Stuck Here For Days
Year: 2006
Type: EP
Smoke & Mirrors
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Outta Sight/Outta Mind!!
Year: 2004
Type: Album
The Datsuns (Limited Edition)
Year: 2003
Type: Album
The Datsuns
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kerry Monaghan

TOOMS - Single Review: Dead Birds
04 Aug 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
TOOMS is possible the most unique two piece I have recently had the pleasure of reviewing. With a nebulous genre that seems to fit where things aren’t supposed to fit, I like it a lot and so should you.
Read More...
Lakius - Single/Video Review: Here We Are Still
05 Jul 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Post-Industrial Metal duo Lakius have another explosive single, this time directly in reference to our country’s marijuana legislation falling short by a 2% margin last year.Here We Are Still is another assault to the senses.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Moving Pictures
23 May 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
If the name of Swerve City sounds familiar to you, you’re probably right in thinking that yes, it is in fact borrowed from a Deftones song. You might also recognize some of the line-up of Swerve City that were formally of/currently in bands like Fire at Will, Saints of Taboo and Armed in Advance (or for those that can remember way back, AKA, Stitches) Having just had the pleasure of reviewing Swerve City’s recent third single, Moving Pictures, I can tell listeners are in for a treat, especially if you’re a fan of alternative rock, metal undertones and pop sensibilities.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Damned Anthem
29 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
East York are back with their third single, Damned Anthem. With two singles firmly under belt, East York continue to go from strength to strength with their creativity and musicality.
Read More...
Scorn Of Creation - Album Review: Annihilation Cult
11 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Following the success of their debut album released in 2018, Scorn of Creation are back with another explosive piece of their unforgettable doom death metal with an edge, Annihilation Cult. With ten tracks full of creativity, guttural screams and intensity there is no mistaking the high energy chaos that descends upon your ears and sends you into oblivion.
Read More...
Etheran - EP Review: Doppelganger
26 Jan 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Etheran is a funky metal rock hybrid hailing from Christchurch. Formed in 2016, they officially started touring in 2018 and this is their first EP, released at the beginning of the month.
Read More...
Hateseeker - Album Review: Let's Talk About Death
13 Dec 2020 // by Kerry Monaghan
Formed in 2013 in New Plymouth, Hateseeker is a hybrid punk rock metal outfit with a twist. While they have been described as sounding a bit like Motorhead and The Ramones they are uniquely their own and bring their versions of hard and heavy riffs with a relentless energy.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Outsiders
08 Nov 2020 // by Kerry Monaghan
Comprised of three Kiwis, Zane Rosanoski (drums) Tarquin Keys (vocals) Daz Coppins (guitar), and a Canadian, Eric Boucher (bass). Formed in Melbourne during pandemic times comes the Rock quartet, East York.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Monaghan

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem